V1 Custom Bluetooth Remote Display

Qui-Gon

PSL +15
Advanced User
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
1,416
Reaction score
722
Not sure if it’s been asked...

Do I assume correctly that in order for one to use the display solely, you would have to have a separate dongle?
 

grhomes

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
21
Reaction score
59
Age
31
Location
NC
I decided to go down the DIY route, had this case 3d printed which just arrived today

Still waiting for the ttgo to arrive, however below is the 3d printed case that just arrived this morning:
View attachment 156117View attachment 156112View attachment 156113View attachment 156114View attachment 156115

Quite nice to the touch, however the cap doesn't "snap" in place as the grooves didn't print out very well so will just glue that on

I've never had anything 3d printed before, nor even looked into who offers what. For the hell of it I went with SLS Nylon PA12, polished and dyed black via Craftcloud. The process was incredibly simple.
Hey @raab did you have issues with the .3mf files when you uploaded to craftcloud? Never done this before and the site won't load prices without those 3 files being de-selected.
 

Qui-Gon

PSL +15
Advanced User
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
1,416
Reaction score
722
Not sure if it’s been asked...

Do I assume correctly that in order for one to use the display solely, you would have to have a separate dongle?
Never mind, I figured it out after playing with the settings...sorry for the noob-ish question everyone! ☹
 

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
799
Reaction score
924
Location
Bear Creek
Sometimes the display goes blank and I have to unplug and plug it back in to work again.
 

Boozehound

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
958
Reaction score
2,322
One of the great things about this display is that you can mount it anywhere out in the open and an educated cop won't recognize that it's a V1 display even if he's seen lots of CDs.
 

csquared

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
7
Hello, is the Portrait mode still only available with the Beta users? LOVE the display but with polarized sunglasses you cant see anything when it is horizontal.

Many Thanks.
 

SquirrelMaster

Likes Unicorns 🦄
Administrator
Security
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
4,562
Reaction score
12,035
Location
Liberal California
Sometimes the display goes blank and I have to unplug and plug it back in to work again.
Sounds either a hardware thing or its going to sleep after disconnecting from the v1.

Are you on beta or stable?
Next time it happens

Hello, is the Portrait mode still only available with the Beta users? LOVE the display but with polarized sunglasses you cant see anything when it is horizontal.

Many Thanks.
Portrait should be available on stable now. I will double check. If it's not, ill push it over to stable.
 

thanks

for all the fish
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Messages
7,214
Reaction score
9,785
what is the latest version?
 

Transporter

ModWight Transporter
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
6,624
Location
In front of you but behind a Rabbit - Hot'Lanta,GA
Love my SM CD, kudos and thanks to the three of you guys!

For us older drivers, any chance of getting a CD that is 2.5 to 3 times larger? I understand this will take a new case design and probably tweaking the firmware if a port can be done. Just wondering if it is out of the realm of future possibilities?

@SquirrelMaster @InsipidMonkey @OBeerWANKenobi

.
 

SquirrelMaster

Likes Unicorns 🦄
Administrator
Security
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
4,562
Reaction score
12,035
Location
Liberal California
Hello, is the Portrait mode still only available with the Beta users? LOVE the display but with polarized sunglasses you cant see anything when it is horizontal.

Many Thanks.
Okay pushed the portrait mode to the latest stable branch. A firmware update should bring it up.
 

SquirrelMaster

Likes Unicorns 🦄
Administrator
Security
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
4,562
Reaction score
12,035
Location
Liberal California
what is the latest version?
Uhhhhhh I think the version number is b6ebdc

Love my SM CD, kudos and thanks to the three of you guys!

For us older drivers, any chance of getting a CD that is 2.5 to 3 times larger? I understand this will take a new case design and probably tweaking the firmware if a port can be done. Just wondering if it is out of the realm of future possibilities?

@SquirrelMaster @InsipidMonkey @OBeerWANKenobi

.
The plan was to create a little larger display (a version 2.0) which would also support TMG, ALP, escort, and any other device with a wireless capability.

I did start that project but got brought on to consult for a company so that's been taking up most of my time and haven't had time to work on that project.
 

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
799
Reaction score
924
Location
Bear Creek
Sounds either a hardware thing or its going to sleep after disconnecting from the v1.
Are you on beta or stable?
Next time it happens
Portrait should be available on stable now. I will double check. If it's not, ill push it over to stable.
Next time it happens...?

I'm unstable.
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
20,948
Reaction score
53,557
Location
Washington State
So I'm trying to update my ReCD, but I'm having some issues. I tried doing it over WiFi, but now it says firmware update failed and will no longer boot past the recovery screen.

What's the best way to determine your ESP serial port when you've got it plugged in on a Mac? I'm not sure where to look to identify that and enter into flash.txt.

Edit: Nevermind, took a little work, but I got it figured out over USB. It still won't update over WiFi and boot up, but at least I got that part, haha.
 
Last edited:

Ultrafudd

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
10
Reaction score
12
Location
SE Wisconsin
Late to the party . . . as usual!

Please put me down for one if / when you do a batch #3.

Thanks!
 

Toser28

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Is there any room left in Batch 3 for another order?
I too would like to order one please
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
89,261
Messages
1,357,485
Members
22,468
Latest member
JohnnyWishbone
Top