R7 firmware update on Mac - Issues

gMan56

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Hi everyone Im new to the site and Im having some trouble with my R7 and my Mac playing nicely. I can't seem to get my R7 to be seen on my Mac. I can download everything on to my Mac but when i got to attach the R7 threw the provided usb cable all it says is it not attached. I have tried other usb cables and other ports. I updated my Mac and uninstalled and reinstalled everything several times on to my Mac. I just can't seem to get the Mac to see the R7 is connected. Any help would be great thank you very much.
 
Last edited:

dudeinnz

NZCTG
ModSec
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 14, 2015
Messages
5,359
Reaction score
7,215
Location
Christchurch
I am having the same issues. I have installed the updater programme, installed the drivers, restarted, and when I connect the R7 or R3, it does not detect anything is connected.

No problems using the same cable on a PC, so its not the cable.

I am running High Sierra 10.13.6

If you search the Uniden forum for "mac" you will see others have managed to get it working no problems, hopefully they can help.
 

KnightHawk

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Messages
513
Reaction score
545
Location
Somewhere Out There
Hi everyone Im new to the site and Im having some trouble with my R7 and my Mac playing nicely. I can't seem to get my R7 to be seen on my Mac. I can download everything on to my Mac but when i got to attach the R7 threw the provided usb cable all it says is it not attached. I have tried other usb cables and other ports. I updated my Mac and uninstalled and reinstalled everything several times on to my Mac. I just can't seem to get the Mac to see the R7 is connected. Any help would be great thank you very much.
Make sure you are using a USB cable with data transfer. If it is just for charging, the computer will no recognize it.
 

Jawfl

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
41
Location
NE Florida
I received my R7 (ver 121 firmware) from Amazon yesterday and had the same issue with my Mac running Catalina 10.15.4. I tried downloading the ver 124 files since the latest ver 129 files for Macs are not yet on the Uniden site. However, I could not get the R7 to connect to the Mac, even after 4-5 installs/uninstalls. I ended up pulling out an old Windows 7 PC and updated it to the latest OS for Win 7. Then I downloaded the drivers, updater tool, firmware, etc. from Uniden’s site and everything worked fine...R7 connected to the Win7 PC with no problems.
 

Jawfl

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
41
Location
NE Florida
From what I can tell, if your Mac OS is Catalina (I am running ver 10.15.4), you may run into problems with your Mac recognizing the R7 even after correctly downloading all the Uniden files. I followed Vortex’s tutorial and still ran into problems. FWIW, I had another issue with drivers for my Canon inkjet printer after I upgraded my Mac OS to Catalina 10.15.4.

For Mac users running “Catalina” - Are you having any issues trying to update your R7 firmware? I also called Uniden customer support today and the person that I spoke with confirmed that the ver 129 firmware for the R7 has not yet been uploaded and was not sure when it will be uploaded.
 

R4D4RUS3R

RADARUSER
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
1,806
I update on my MAC no issues....because I installed Win10 in Bootcamp. I really tried for a while to avoid that, tried to bring an old PC back to life but in the end Bootcamp was the easiest solution. I have a Pro M to update too and it does not have a MAC option so why not. Some here have been successful so maybe keep at it or just setup a Win10 partition and use that.
 

derek21023

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
236
Reaction score
337
Location
United States
I’m having some issues lately on my Mac and never was before. I always do recovery mode. Lately the software is telling me download failed, but the software does actually install. Weird.
 

gMan56

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
I am having the same issues. I have installed the updater programme, installed the drivers, restarted, and when I connect the R7 or R3, it does not detect anything is connected.

No problems using the same cable on a PC, so its not the cable.

I am running High Sierra 10.13.6

If you search the Uniden forum for "mac" you will see others have managed to get it working no problems, hopefully they can help.
Im using 10.15.4 on my Mac and I have tried everything and nothing works. Im really pissed at this point I can't understand how this is even an issue. a 500.00 detector should not have these firmware issues.
 

Dave3006

Learning to Drive
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
General User
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Location
Steamboat Springs, CO
Have you had a look under Security and Privacy(Mac) in System Preferences and down at the bottom there is Allow Apps this will block it and you will have to tick Allow
 

gMan56

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Yeah that’s not it either. I have the R7 for 4 days and I’m about to return it. The updates are very important. If this is what it going to be like every time there’s a new update it’s not worth it then. I appreciate all the help I really want to solve this issue because I think this is a very good detector. But with out the updates it’s only doing half the job.
Post automatically merged:

The problem is the SW download tool V1.2 is not able to connect to the R7
 

R4D4RUS3R

RADARUSER
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
1,806
Yeah that’s not it either. I have the R7 for 4 days and I’m about to return it. The updates are very important. If this is what it going to be like every time there’s a new update it’s not worth it then. I appreciate all the help I really want to solve this issue because I think this is a very good detector. But with out the updates it’s only doing half the job.
Post automatically merged:

The problem is the SW download tool V1.2 is not able to connect to the R7
IF you swap for another brand you will need to be selective. Others do not work with MAC either. Like I said, I use Bootcamp. It’s already on your MAC and Win10 can be used for free. It has restrictions for customization but if all you’re doing with it is updates you dont need the option. Pretty sure Escort and I know for sure Radenso dont offer MAC update options. If you dont like Bootcamp you can update and then kill bootcamp. The updates only happen like twice per year. Another option is to use someone else’s PC for a few minutes.
 

Dave3006

Learning to Drive
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
General User
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Location
Steamboat Springs, CO
I just installed the tool V1.2 and drivers on My Laptop running macOS Catalina 10.15.4 and it works fine reading my R7, using the drivers and tool V1.2 from here.see photo for the Uniden site ( https://support.uniden.com/radar-detectors/ )
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-03-29 at 07.50.44.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-29 at 07.50.44.png
    337.4 KB · Views: 58

derek21023

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
236
Reaction score
337
Location
United States
IF you swap for another brand you will need to be selective. Others do not work with MAC either. Like I said, I use Bootcamp. It’s already on your MAC and Win10 can be used for free. It has restrictions for customization but if all you’re doing with it is updates you dont need the option. Pretty sure Escort and I know for sure Radenso dont offer MAC update options. If you dont like Bootcamp you can update and then kill bootcamp. The updates only happen like twice per year. Another option is to use someone else’s PC for a few minutes.
Yeah I voice this as well. You’re complaining about it not working on a Mac, but brands like Radenso don’t even have Mac software.

Did you install the drivers before installing the 1.2 program?
Are you using the cable that came with your detector?
 

gMan56

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
IF you swap for another brand you will need to be selective. Others do not work with MAC either. Like I said, I use Bootcamp. It’s already on your MAC and Win10 can be used for free. It has restrictions for customization but if all you’re doing with it is updates you dont need the option. Pretty sure Escort and I know for sure Radenso dont offer MAC update options. If you dont like Bootcamp you can update and then kill bootcamp. The updates only happen like twice per year. Another option is to use someone else’s PC for a few minutes.

When you used bootcamp did you download the Mac version or the PC version of the firmware update.
 

Brainstorm69

TXCTG - 2016 MOTY
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
11,471
Reaction score
28,440
Location
Lone Star State
When you used bootcamp did you download the Mac version or the PC version of the firmware update.
If you have bootcamp and Windows 10, then boot into Windows and use the Windows version of the installer.
 

R4D4RUS3R

RADARUSER
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
1,806
Right, when/if you setup bootcamp and Win10 you just use the windows versions of everything which Uniden (other brands as well) make easy to use. Install the drivers first then software and from there connect the detector and run the update. I did not want Win10 on my MAC its why I use a MAC but really the way Apple partitions its easy. When you're ready just kill the bootcamp partition and its all back to normal. Leave it in place long term if you have the space. I have it setup on an iMac with Fusion so it lives on the spinning drive only (thats how Apple does it) and its a bit slower but I can live with that since I only use it for this purpose. I prefer my SSD space be used for MacOS anyhow. So, really I never know its there.
 

SilenceDogoodNinja

SDN
Premium Plus
Intermediate User
Joined
Mar 8, 2020
Messages
624
Reaction score
1,104
Location
Alberta
Hey @gMan56 sorry to hear your troubles. I struggled with this too. I am pretty sure you did all this, but thought I would talk out what I did to get this working.

1) I had to download the R7 for MAC tool under the firmware 124 files.
2) Inside that zip file was the Mac VCP Driver 5.0.8 zip which when opened got the DMG for installing the driver.
3) After the driver was open I ran the Uniden R Serious Tool 1.2 (as you mentioned you have already).
4) Then I downloaded the tool with firmware file from the most recent R7 stuff for PC for firmware 129.
5) I used just that BIN file when I ran the update and it worked for me.

From what you are describing maybe the 2nd step driver wasn't installed? I know I saw your issue until I installed it. Hope that helps you.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
90,703
Messages
1,380,571
Members
22,809
Latest member
pflaugh
Top