V1 gen2 bluetooth with android auto?

Fixxxer0

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
82
Reaction score
102
Just wondering if anyone has tried this or knows if it will work...

I have a Pixel 2 that I connect to my Honda with a USB cable for android auto. Android auto automatically turns on bluetooth and pairs to the car for audio/phone playback through the speakers.

with this up and running, would i still be able to connect my phone to the V1 gen2 to use a V1 app?
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
7,412
Reaction score
17,062
Location
Western NC
It works fine in my 2018 Accord. :)
 

johnboy00

Geaux Tigers!
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
5,255
Reaction score
12,742
On longer drives, I do the same with my Pixel 2 XL in my Dodge Charger. No issues using a V1 app at the same time.
 

Fixxxer0

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
82
Reaction score
102
ah very good to know. i have an older gen 1, an R3 and R7, but only 2 cars...

debating trading the V1 or selling on fleabay/craigslist and also the R3, to play with the gen2. but if i couldnt use an app i wouldn't bother and would just wait for theia.

i justttt might do it now.
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
7,412
Reaction score
17,062
Location
Western NC
Just a little encouragement. :) Waze through Android Auto. Listen to music or youtube audio all the time too. :)
 

Attachments

  • Attach0_20191010_183344.jpg
    Attach0_20191010_183344.jpg
    467.6 KB · Views: 69

mswlogo

Software Developer
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
4,204
Reaction score
4,582
Location
MA
You phone can connect to many Bluetooth devices at the same time.

Android Auto actually doesn’t use Bluetooth but it may set up the Bluetooth pairing when you plug in as backup.

Part of the reason you need to plug in is better bandwidth and robustness when wired in that Bluetooth doesn’t have.

Also the Bluetooth V1G2 uses is very different than what your car uses. It’s called Bluetooth LE.
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
7,412
Reaction score
17,062
Location
Western NC
I read about this the other day. Android Auto does still use Bluetooth for phone calls but that's about it. :)
 

LouG

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
5,015
Reaction score
7,740
Yep, mine has to be paired before AA will operate.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
93,143
Messages
1,420,127
Members
23,709
Latest member
jmmch65
Top