360C wifi vs bluetooth... what am I missing

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
I have been having problems with the speed limit not registering on my 360C. So I contacted Escort. Let's just say, that was an experience in itself. Makes me want to return the RD and go with another vendor.

What was explained to me was that the speed limit will not show when wifi is connected, only bluetooth. What is even more interesting is that wifi takes precedence over bluetooth so as long as wifi is enabled, you will never get speeds to show in the display. But, if you disable wifi to get the radar to work as expected, then the auto-update feature no longer works... Am I missing something?
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
20,087
Reaction score
48,536
Location
Washington State
hm strange, was that recent? There was a known issue with speed limits not showing up properly, but that has since been fixed to my knowledge. I was running the 360c yesterday and today and the speed limits were showing up fine over WiFi, so long as they are available for the roads I was on.
 

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
hm strange, was that recent? There was a known issue with speed limits not showing up properly, but that has since been fixed to my knowledge. I was running the 360c yesterday and today and the speed limits were showing up fine over WiFi, so long as they are available for the roads I was on.
I have had the radar for a week and I have only been able to get the speed limits to show up when disabling Wifi. I had a conversation the other day with a gentleman who said this was a known issue with certain units. He mentioned that units get confused when running both wifi and bluetooth and asked me to disable bluetooth, Unfortunately, that didn't help. Today when I called in, I got a completely different answer which makes absolutely no sense to me...
 

westwind77

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
2,774
Reaction score
5,098
Escort customer service, sadly, is a lot of the reason people dislike the company as a whole. That being said I have a feeling the rep you spoke to was not knowledgeable about their own product, it has happened a number of times with customers calling in to question concerns.

To my knowledge, and even product videos, WiFi will give you the exact same data that BT will, just not having to connect to your phone and drain your battery (or having to worry about launching the app every time you start your vehicle).

It sounds like there is an issue with with your RD or Escorts servers. Their servers are not the most reliable and do glitch and completely fail at times as well, although it seems over these past Holidays they maintained with an issue, which is not typical, but hopefully a step in the right direction.

I would PM the Escort rep on this forum and ask him for clarification.
 

cognetic

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
127
Reaction score
189
Location
Indy
For me, I have had zero issues running both BT & WiFi with speed display or any other feature. I only use this device intermittently in alternate vehicles (using a hotspot) from my primary. The last firmware update was applied about a month ago.

-cognetic



I have been having problems with the speed limit not registering on my 360C. So I contacted Escort. Let's just say, that was an experience in itself. Makes me want to return the RD and go with another vendor.

What was explained to me was that the speed limit will not show when wifi is connected, only bluetooth. What is even more interesting is that wifi takes precedence over bluetooth so as long as wifi is enabled, you will never get speeds to show in the display. But, if you disable wifi to get the radar to work as expected, then the auto-update feature no longer works... Am I missing something?
 

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
@westwind77 That is a good suggestion. Do you happen to know the Escort rep or how to track him/her down? Still new to the site so don't have have it all figured out yet.
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
20,087
Reaction score
48,536
Location
Washington State
Another silly question.. can you verify that your WiFi hotspot is working properly and has a good internet connection to share? Can you connect to it with your phone and browse the net reliably?
 

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
Another silly question.. can you verify that your WiFi hotspot is working properly and has a good internet connection to share? Can you connect to it with your phone and browse the net reliably?
Not a silly question at all. Actually, it is a fair question that i have taken for granted. I have used the wifi in the past but have not tried it recently. I have used it to update the unit, but that is about all I have used it for in the past couple of months.

I will test it tonight and let you know.
 

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
@Vortex I was able to test the WiFi connection in my car and to showed low latency, good connection speeds, and a good browsing experience.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Six2Lou

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
I literally just got off the phone with them as I'm having the same exact issue as the original poster and had me help them diagnose. They are currently looking into it and said they'd call me back. I'll post here with what they come up with. I'm using in car equipped wifi (works fine with my phone) and driving 2019 GMC Sierra.
Post automatically merged:

I have been having problems with the speed limit not registering on my 360C. So I contacted Escort. Let's just say, that was an experience in itself. Makes me want to return the RD and go with another vendor.

What was explained to me was that the speed limit will not show when wifi is connected, only bluetooth. What is even more interesting is that wifi takes precedence over bluetooth so as long as wifi is enabled, you will never get speeds to show in the display. But, if you disable wifi to get the radar to work as expected, then the auto-update feature no longer works... Am I missing something?
What brand vehicle are you driving and how does the RD show up as a connected device on your infotainment system?
Post automatically merged:

I just heard back from Escort and they are working on an "update" currently to remedy this problem. I asked if it was an update for the RD or Escort Live App and they did not know. I asked when it'd be released and the answer was the same. That's all I've got for now.
 
Last edited:

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
I'm driving a 2019 Audi SQ5.

Glad you are making progress. If there is anything I can do to help troubleshoot, please let me know. More than happy to help out
 

DrHow

Going “Plaid” ASAP (Tesla S) RDT refugee
Banned User
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
3,376
Reaction score
5,573
hm strange, was that recent? There was a known issue with speed limits not showing up properly, but that has since been fixed to my knowledge. I was running the 360c yesterday and today and the speed limits were showing up fine over WiFi, so long as they are available for the roads I was on.
Me too. Work fine over WiFi. Some roads EL does not have speed limits for (mostly suburb neighborhood roads). I have not seen OP behavior before. Seems odd ER support would suggest this theory.


edit: now see there might be a bug. I have two 360c, one is less than month old. Neither have shown this behavior. Looks like multiple people seeing same thing. Mine are on Subaru and Ford WiFi hot spots. ATT. Nothing seems to be blocked.
 
Last edited:

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
@Six2Lou For what its worth, I purchased a new 360c and it is displaying the PLC as expected. Guess the original unit is going back...
 

genebopp

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
7
I just got mine working again. Try plugging it into the laptop, run detector tools and and instead of clicking on the green update buttons, try the drop down box that says something about update all detector data. There is a warning about same version you already have. Try it anyway. Mine now works exactly how you expect it too.
 

Fenris Wolf

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Mine wouldn't show the speed limit when connected to WiFi for about the first month. After a couple of firmware updates, it worked. Not sure exactly what did it, but it's working fine now.
 

mast3rof0

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
13
Thanks for the updates. I bought a new unit and returned the old one. It works most of the time. When it doesn’t work I turn it off and back on and everything starts working

I am going to download the detector tools and force reinstall all of the firmware. Hopefully this fixes my problem.

Most importantly I’m glad I’m not the only one who has experienced this and folks have had success in getting it working. Customer support us not been a help at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Kbernard75

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Just got a new 360c and it won't show speed limit from either the wifi or the Bluetooth. Noth phone and rd are connected to in car wifi. The app shows the psl but won't feed it to the rd
 

HZ360C

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
15
Just got a new 360c and it won't show speed limit from either the wifi or the Bluetooth. Noth phone and rd are connected to in car wifi. The app shows the psl but won't feed it to the rd
Your area and streets may not have the speed limit information in Escort database. In my area, most of the secondary streets does not have the speed limit information within Escort database.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
85,138
Messages
1,294,096
Members
21,466
Latest member
tvfd
Top