Radenso Pro M Firmware update now available (US 19)

VR4pt0r

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
20
All, we are still researching the issue for you. Just keeping you in the loop, thanks!

G’day Randy

I assume you are waiting for the research results before releasing the Australian/NZ ProM update is that the case?

Cheers

AL
 

knight_man

I wanna go fast
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
819
Reaction score
1,187
I know this may sound like a dumb question so be gentle, should we do a factory reset on the Pro M this time around since there are new settings/changes?

I didn't, but I don't use lockouts and no MCxxx anything, so not going to notice some of these issues. I didn't notice right away anyone mentioning it and the instructions typically on the Radenso say you don't need to reset every time you update.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
6,065
Reaction score
13,819
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
You don’t need to do a factory reset.

It’s only the Uniden’s that suggest you do a factory reset after a FW update.
 

Randy at Radenso

beyond radar.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Manufacturer
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
7,181
Location
Cincinnati, OH

Tb12

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
459
Reaction score
762
Location
MA
Seeing similar lockout oddness.

Edit: I'm an idiot and forgot how to go through menu settings. Oops.

Can't wait til Radenso has in-house designed hardware! ;)
 
Last edited:

TheSkyIsFalling

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
2,028
I’m on us16 still. Since so many ppl are report issues with this. Maybe release us16 again until it get resolved

The tweak is just tones so no big loss going back to us16.
 

VR4pt0r

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
20
For all the ppl out there who do not live in America, like all us bastards living in AU and NZ 😜😜 In case you are curious, here it is a chance to hear what the new ProM tones sound like till we get blessed with our own update 😉😉

 

knight_man

I wanna go fast
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
819
Reaction score
1,187
And not a bad idea, he mentioned turning your voice alerts back on for a while to get used to the new tones.
 

synistyr

I need more coffee
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
2,027
Reaction score
2,360
So hit a different US19 bug tonight.

Was riding along, hit a locked locked out area and heard some barely audible beeping. The ProM was alerting but at very low volume.

I stopped and checked. Display said HWY mode (I run in AutoCity) and the volume control was all wonky.






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TheSkyIsFalling

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
2,028
So hit a different US19 bug tonight.

Was riding along, hit a locked locked out area and heard some barely audible beeping. The ProM was alerting but at very low volume.

I stopped and checked. Display said HWY mode (I run in AutoCity) and the volume control was all wonky.






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Is that really a bug or did the pro m settings get changed inadvertently and not know


I take my pro m down sometimes and I put it the center console but while the car is running so the pro m is on. One time I heard it “city, auto city, hwy “.

Had i not heard it. And saw it on hwy. I would think bug
 

synistyr

I need more coffee
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
2,027
Reaction score
2,360
Is that really a bug or did the pro m settings get changed inadvertently and not know


I take my pro m down sometimes and I put it the center console but while the car is running so the pro m is on. One time I heard it “city, auto city, hwy “.

Had i not heard it. And saw it on hwy. I would think bug

Definitely a bug. I have the volume set and almost never change it. (when I do I vary between 6-7).

The alert volume seemed to be at like 1. Plus hitting volume buttons didn't show volume level.

A very bad bug if you don't hear an alert.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TheSkyIsFalling

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
2,028
Definitely a bug. I have the volume set and almost never change it. (when I do I vary between 6-7).

The alert volume seemed to be at like 1. Plus hitting volume buttons didn't show volume level.

A very bad bug if you don't hear an alert.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


K I didn’t update so I’m still on us16.
 

knight_man

I wanna go fast
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
819
Reaction score
1,187
Definitely a bug. I have the volume set and almost never change it. (when I do I vary between 6-7).

The alert volume seemed to be at like 1. Plus hitting volume buttons didn't show volume level.

A very bad bug if you don't hear an alert.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I could swear I had this happen to me twice on an real alert. Visual confirmation, KA both times. Didn't hear or notice anything then suddenly the Pro M is at full alert, but muted. Maybe IO but it was still a muted alert at initial detection at full detection. Didn't like the behavior. lol moved it to the wife's car, wired myself back up for an rj11.

First time this happened on US16. Months ago. I shrugged it off. I was only 3 or 4 over, had the family in the car. Figured I just missed the alert and visual on the detector being distracted with the family, talking and such. No harm no foul. Heard the muted volume alert, but somehow didn't hear the full volume on detection. Possible long range detection, auto mute already kicked in.

Second time was recently, after US 19 update. I was getting off freeway in an area I see a lot of action- glanced at the detector at the right time (saw some oncoming profiles that looked suspect) and it went full alert, but muted. I had windows up, radio off. Checked the volume at the light after the alert, it was at max, made lots of noise adjusting the volume. I was running hot, but luckily I was also getting off the freeway and already decelerating. There was no time for auto mute in this situation.
 
Last edited:

synistyr

I need more coffee
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
2,027
Reaction score
2,360
The ProM lost its settings again and switched the mode to HWY, funky volume controls, and switched to MPH.

Ironically(and probably not coincidentally) the custom set tones did retain their settings.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TheSkyIsFalling

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
2,028
Would be interesting know if us 17 and us 18 exists and if yes. What changes were made there and if there were. We they retained in us19
 

cihkal

No substitute for [actual] intelligence 🇺🇸
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
4,410
Reaction score
8,748
The ProM lost its settings again and switched the mode to HWY, funky volume controls, and switched to MPH.

Ironically(and probably not coincidentally) the custom set tones did retain their settings.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Have you checked your wiring lately if you have it hardwired? Recently I was getting some really strange behavior because my hot wire was coming loose from my car's sporty suspension. As it would wiggle around it would cause weird falsing, just all around weird behavior.

Since cleaning up my work so that doesn't happen again the Pro M has been working as expected, and consistent.
 

synistyr

I need more coffee
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
2,027
Reaction score
2,360
Have you checked your wiring lately if you have it hardwired? Recently I was getting some really strange behavior because my hot wire was coming loose from my car's sporty suspension. As it would wiggle around it would cause weird falsing, just all around weird behavior.

Since cleaning up my work so that doesn't happen again the Pro M has been working as expected, and consistent.

For this specific issue, I suppose it's possible.. I'll take a look. Doesn't seem like a wiring issue, the behaviour is consistent. Either everything is OK, or it turns HWY and I lose settings.
 

cihkal

No substitute for [actual] intelligence 🇺🇸
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
4,410
Reaction score
8,748
For this specific issue, I suppose it's possible.. I'll take a look. Doesn't seem like a wiring issue, the behaviour is consistent. Either everything is OK, or it turns HWY and I lose settings.
Man that's annoying, but I've only had that happen once. Hopefully the cause isn't your RD. Also could be corrupt firmware and maybe a reflash will help.

I figured I'd mention the wire thing because I didn't expect it myself, but when there is a power issue it seems the pro m acts really weird.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
95,261
Messages
1,450,043
Members
24,410
Latest member
joes761
Top