Google enables RCS messaging for all US users

CobawLT2010

Land of the quarantined, home of the afraid.
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
7,739
Reaction score
4,444
Location
Wuhan, China
What makes them do that? I'm sure they have a reason, but someone out of the loop like me is lost.

I guess TMO doesn't care or will probably use this as a way to entice customers.

They have the bands for my Huawei and don't interfere with updates too, no complaints even though their coverage isn't #1.

RCS is nice if others have it lol. That's the problem right now. So even though I have it, I can't use it because most I know don't have it. Total loss, what a weird problem.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
NSA
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY

cihkal

Retired from the Forum, Adios! WWG1WGA
Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
3,853
Reaction score
7,118

Dragons

Breathing fire
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
888
Location
Australia
Using encryption has nothing to do with suspect content rather a simple principle; why should any government have all my communications in a searchable database? As is the case in my own country.
If the police turned up on my door today I'd happily allow them to look through my phone.

While I'm sure some dodgy people use signal the extreme majority are not that way inclined.

Add to that video and voice quality I find better on Signal than any other medium.
 

AlexJ

Агенство Интернет-исследований
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
807
Reaction score
749
Location
NYC/NJ
I had that message 3 times already on 3 different phones. lol

I guess it decided to take it away from me then.
Maybe Google decided you're not ready yet ;-) All I know is it works for me, I am on Verizon and I use Galaxy S9+.

Screenshot_20191118-224956_Messages.jpg
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY

AlexJ

Агенство Интернет-исследований
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
807
Reaction score
749
Location
NYC/NJ
Well my phone officially hates me then. :(
You can actually force the registration on Google RCS server if you really want to try this now. To do this you must have Google Messages version 5.2.056 or later. This version is not available to everyone on Play Store so if you cannot get it there - you can always try downloading the apk from reliable place which checks them for malware:

Once installed you can force the registration using this method:
https://www.reddit.com/r/UniversalProfile/comments/dx450o
I can confirm this works on Verizon network. Or you can just wait until Google will enable it for you without using this method ;-)
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY
No go. Still says features are unavailable. I guess it really hates me :(

Funny thing, I just tried taking out the SIM card from another phone on T-Mobile and inserted it into my Note 10 and it works. But I switch back to VZ sim and it doesn't work. WTF

Now I'm mad.
 

OBeerWANKenobi

This is not the car you're looking for......
Moderator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
5,569
Reaction score
15,342
Location
Outer Rim - Hiding from 35.5 I/O
You can actually force the registration on Google RCS server if you really want to try this now. To do this you must have Google Messages version 5.2.056 or later. This version is not available to everyone on Play Store so if you cannot get it there - you can always try downloading the apk from reliable place which checks them for malware:

Once installed you can force the registration using this method:
https://www.reddit.com/r/UniversalProfile/comments/dx450o
I can confirm this works on Verizon network. Or you can just wait until Google will enable it for you without using this method ;-)
Worked for me! Thanks!

Now I've just got to find someone to chat with............ :hmm: :shadyhat:
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY

OBeerWANKenobi

This is not the car you're looking for......
Moderator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
5,569
Reaction score
15,342
Location
Outer Rim - Hiding from 35.5 I/O
I HATE YOU GUYS SO MUCH :(

I want RCS! Just to say I got it.
Hey, want to RCS chat with me PY004?....................oh yeah, that's right.... :razz: Guess I'll have to chat with @AlexJ instead.
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY

robbyb413

I thought there would be beer
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
238
Reaction score
292
Location
MA
You can actually force the registration on Google RCS server if you really want to try this now. To do this you must have Google Messages version 5.2.056 or later. This version is not available to everyone on Play Store so if you cannot get it there - you can always try downloading the apk from reliable place which checks them for malware:

Once installed you can force the registration using this method:
https://www.reddit.com/r/UniversalProfile/comments/dx450o
I can confirm this works on Verizon network. Or you can just wait until Google will enable it for you without using this method ;-)
Step 7 isn't required, which is why in post #6 of this thread I linked to the actively updated post on Reddit showing the updated process. :)
 

BestRadarDetectors

Manufacturer
Advanced User
Premium Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
12,385
Reaction score
30,041
I think I got it working after so many attempts. It shows connected under chat but I still see no difference.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
View attachment 135283
 

OBeerWANKenobi

This is not the car you're looking for......
Moderator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
5,569
Reaction score
15,342
Location
Outer Rim - Hiding from 35.5 I/O
I think I got it working after so many attempts. It shows connected under chat but I still see no difference.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
View attachment 135283
I'm in the same boat as far as showing "connected" but not knowing whether or not it's actually working.
 

AlexJ

Агенство Интернет-исследований
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
807
Reaction score
749
Location
NYC/NJ
You can try some features using chatbot like
To use it you first register with it using the link on that page then you use "start conversation". There aren't many options but it works with Google Messages.
 

AlexJ

Агенство Интернет-исследований
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
807
Reaction score
749
Location
NYC/NJ
Just a bump to inform that Google has completed RCS rollout in USA. You still need to use Google Messages app to use it but it should be enabled as soon as you will install latest version. Google also released more info about Verified senders and spam filtering:
 

PY004

Director of Technical Operations
Administrator
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
2,821
Reaction score
7,624
Location
Queens, NY

Discord Server

Latest threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
85,344
Messages
1,297,268
Members
21,524
Latest member
jesus359
Top