Uniden R3 not detecting some speed signs.

Jhernan488

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
45
Reaction score
36
Hello, so I have the uniden r3 and it is not detecting some radar signs. So I’m thinking how can I trust it if it were a cop. I tried figuring it out and made sure everything is on Kpop kapop mrcd and even x band. Tried wide and narrow it’s on highway.... I drove past it serveral times and no detection and the sign was reading my speed. What could it be?
 

GTO_04

Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
6,099
List all your current settings for us please
I have the same issue with a nearby speed sign. There are several factors in play here. First of all, from previous testing, it appears to me that even with all the filters off and K band wide enabled, my R1 is still doing some filtering. The heartbeat is fluttering to help confirm that. Another factor, at least with this speed sign, it is running at the extreme high end of K band, almost outside of it. Sometimes it registers as 24.26 GHz on my Redline and Magnum, which is just outside the upper limit of K band. There is some frequency drift from this speed sign and sometimes it is transmitting just below the upper limit of K band. My Magnum and Redline will pick it up, but they do no filtering on K band with TSR off and Auto off. The V1 will pick it up at a much longer range even with TMF1 enabled. TMF1 doesn't do much filtering. It looks like the V1 maintains full sensitivity across the entire frequency range of K band, whereas the Redline and Magnum do not. On signals closer to the middle of K band, the Magnum will have better range.

So there are a lot of factors with K band speed signs that may explain the failure of the R3 to alert to them. Does it pick up other K band sources like door openers and police radar?

GTO_04
 

skd

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
258
Reaction score
443
Location
Bulgaria
What a strange case. My R1 detects all signs and door openers on the road in a row. Nothing is missed. Maybe this sign is something irregular or the settings are too low, or TSF may be preventing alert. Too many unknown variables if we don't know at least your settings...
 

The Mighty Four Banger

Time efficient
Advanced User
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
851
Reaction score
923
Location
Texas
Speed signs are a pretty mixed bag. My R3 is hit or miss with a lot too. It’s because some signs use the same antennas as radar guns and some use completely different stuff such as FMCW radar among other variables. A picture of the sign in question might also help others out to see if they have gotten the same results.

I really doubt there is a problem here unless you aren’t getting any sort of K signals from anything at all. Falses at some traffic lights, dollar generals, and Walmart’s are all pretty common.
 

VariableWave

Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
2,049
Location
SEVa
Hello, so I have the uniden r3 and it is not detecting some radar signs. So I’m thinking how can I trust it if it were a cop. I tried figuring it out and made sure everything is on Kpop kapop mrcd and even x band. Tried wide and narrow it’s on highway.... I drove past it serveral times and no detection and the sign was reading my speed. What could it be?
@Jon at Radenso has identified various reasons to why at times Some signs do and others not... and times why we see short reactions to distancing on alerting.
See @Vortex video of Jon talking briefly, and there are other posts of the similar
Vortex w/Jon @Radenso
 

Tallyho

Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3,338
Reaction score
6,629
This is a very popular question and it comes down to how your detector is filtering and how speed signs are different from standard radar guns. Detectors will not handle these signs in the same way so they are not good for gauging your RD's performance.

The bottom line is do not be concerned with these speed signs, you'd need to measure against a legitimate K band gun instead. See these threads for more info:

www.rdforum.org: Mobile speed sign - no alert - what tech?

www.rdforum.org: R3 alerting to speed sign randomly

www.rdforum.org: Undetectable speed sign

www.rdforum.org: DFR7 speed sign not detectable
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
4,964
Reaction score
9,867
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
Did you guys think to ask what FW he’s running?
I did have the same thing on demand last year with 1.46.

Not every sign, but one in particular. It would be fine with MRCD off, but once on, the sign would disappear while every other detector could still see it.

It was weird. It did come back with the next FW updates and started acting normal again.
It’s possible and does happen Uniden’s are the only ones I’ve seen do this.
 

Jhernan488

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
45
Reaction score
36
I will
It's not alerting to speed signs? That's a good thing. Turn off TSR and K Filter if you want to test.
I’ll give it a try
Post automatically merged:

I have the same issue with a nearby speed sign. There are several factors in play here. First of all, from previous testing, it appears to me that even with all the filters off and K band wide enabled, my R1 is still doing some filtering. The heartbeat is fluttering to help confirm that. Another factor, at least with this speed sign, it is running at the extreme high end of K band, almost outside of it. Sometimes it registers as 24.26 GHz on my Redline and Magnum, which is just outside the upper limit of K band. There is some frequency drift from this speed sign and sometimes it is transmitting just below the upper limit of K band. My Magnum and Redline will pick it up, but they do no filtering on K band with TSR off and Auto off. The V1 will pick it up at a much longer range even with TMF1 enabled. TMF1 doesn't do much filtering. It looks like the V1 maintains full sensitivity across the entire frequency range of K band, whereas the Redline and Magnum do not. On signals closer to the middle of K band, the Magnum will have better range.

So there are a lot of factors with K band speed signs that may explain the failure of the R3 to alert to them. Does it pick up other K band sources like door openers and police radar?

GTO_04
Yes, it does pick up the door openers and k band police radar
Post automatically merged:

Did you guys think to ask what FW he’s running?
I did have the same thing on demand last year with 1.46.

Not every sign, but one in particular. It would be fine with MRCD off, but once on, the sign would disappear while every other detector could still see it.

It was weird. It did come back with the next FW updates and started acting normal again.
It’s possible and does happen Uniden’s are the only ones I’ve seen do this.
I have the latest update. Just checked today.
 
Last edited:

spongebobradarpants

aka "The Grouch"
Advanced User
Joined
May 18, 2017
Messages
3,359
Reaction score
2,643
Location
PNW
I think they turn off the speed signs around here when they realize the traffic that's already going 10mph under is gonna continue to go 10mph under and all the other people are using it as a high score board.
 

skd

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
258
Reaction score
443
Location
Bulgaria
... and all the other people are using it as a high score board.
This makes me smile. Are there such people? What a madness if they see in these signs a board of their proudness - the opposite of what signs are intended.

I've been using FW 1.46 and can't complain with TSF off. It sees everything: signs, traffic cameras, police guns... For 5 months now I've never had something missed. My MRCD option is engaged as well. I don't see reason his R3 to be silent on them, unless some signs at your end are outside of R's hardware range, or some filtering is better with 1.50. Interesting case for sure.

Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk
 

Brainstorm69

TXCTG - 2016 MOTY
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
10,668
Reaction score
24,668
Location
Lone Star State
It's not alerting to speed signs? That's a good thing. Turn off TSR and K Filter if you want to test.
Still may not matter. See my post below in another thread.

 

TeamQuack

s\/\/er\/e
Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
May 8, 2014
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
2,434
Location
NYC
is not detecting some radar signs. So I’m thinking how can I trust it if it were a cop.
Seems logical, but its not, some of them use different frequencies.
 

leesrt

Mature Speeder
Intermediate User
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
754
Reaction score
1,086
Location
Florida
My R3 and R7 do well with speed signs but there's one fixed speed sign in a neighborhood near me that never registers on either RD. I don't know what freq it operates on or whether its even using k or ka.

I do know this, I've never seen a speed sign pull someone over and write a ticket.
 

RRJ

Running with R3
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
195
I’ve seen speed signs my R1 would not pick up. I turned all filters off and all bands/segments on, and still got nothing. It must be the frequency they use.
 

Brainstorm69

TXCTG - 2016 MOTY
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
10,668
Reaction score
24,668
Location
Lone Star State
I’ve seen speed signs my R1 would not pick up. I turned all filters off and all bands/segments on, and still got nothing. It must be the frequency they use.
May not be the frequency. In the post linked in my post above about a speed sign that none of my detectors alerted to when filtering was turned on, note that "I could only get the frequency with the V1 and TMF2 off. JBV1 reported it as 24.130-24.133."
 
Last edited:

JFR

Ka Band is in my visible spectrum.
Beginner User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
199
Location
MA
This makes me smile. Are there such people?
Absolutely!!!!! My best is 91 in a 30. I have a dash cam picture somewhere around here.

-JR
 

oversteer325

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
636
Reaction score
1,260
Location
NC/SC
Absolutely!!!!! My best is 91 in a 30. I have a dash cam picture somewhere around here.

-JR
All of the ones around me default to display "SLOW DOWN" once you exceed a certain speed above whatever it's set at. I still try every time though.
 

Jhernan488

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
45
Reaction score
36
List all your current settings for us please
I actually went to bestbuy to get the R7 and try it out, (I wasn’t planning on keeping it) and it detects that sign now. I know this isn’t really a main priority for speed signs as they don’t write tickets. I’m thinking it’s the k band frequency’s that they added on the r7... by the way the R7 is a way better detector. So I’m just going to keep it.
Post automatically merged:

It's not alerting to speed signs? That's a good thing. Turn off TSR and K Filter if you want to test.
Even with all the filtering off and trying narrow and wide it still didnt detect it.. ended up getting the R7 and it detects it. Better detector anyways, so I’m just keeping it. I’m thinking it’s the added kband frequency’s in the R7.
 
Last edited:

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
85,331
Messages
1,297,148
Members
21,523
Latest member
EMCCM
Top