GT 360 Lock Up Video

samq45

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
1,546
Reaction score
2,230
Location
Saratoga, NY
My GT 360, that Purchased a few month ago locks up on a regular basis - pretty much daily in about 2-3 hours of driving, it will not detect any radar when it locks up, K or Ka. It locks up in different vehicles and locks up by itself or in a vehicle with the Plus.

I have not tested laser yet to see if it stops detecting that, but who really cares, once it locks up on radar, its useless. I have sent it to Bel/Escort once, but they sent it back saying everything was fine and they just "reloaded" the same firmware that was already on the detector. It seems to lock up more when Live is connected, but still locks up when not connected to live.

When it does lock up with live, I have noticed that the posted speed limit stays the same. If you pass into another speed zone Live will update the speed limit on the phone but the detector speed limit does not change.

On my travels there are a few Stalker Ka signs - Six within 25 miles and they all are within Spec of 34.730-34.745. I passed the first one with no alert this weekend, and videoed the next 2, which are 5 miles apart or so, This is the video of the third sign not alerting. In the background you can hear the Stir Plus alerting in the same location it normally does, but as you can see the 360 does not alert and the speed limit is wrong, its a 55 area that goes to 35. The 360 had been locked up for at least 20 minutes, as that was the last time I was in a 65 mph zone. After the Vid I unplugged and restarted the detector and it alerted to the next Stalker sign at other end of the town.

I hope Escort fixes these, but I have no confidence they will - or even care to. I am done running it until they fix the lockup. How can most people tell if they have a lockup with no error message? How many people are still seeing these, then they need to tell escort, or get a class action suit going. I wonder if some people have gotten ticket due to these issues?


 
Last edited:

DrHow

Going “Plaid” ASAP (Tesla S) RDT refugee
Banned User
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
3,376
Reaction score
5,573
What radar detector was giving you the audio alert?
Post automatically merged:
I have run my GT360 many many hours, with no lock up. When a couple reports indicated theirs was locking up, I brought portable radar along to test from time to time. Never seen any lock up.

In past 48 Hours I had a client and engineer with me, the GT360 worked great. If did alert to a couple construction signs with bots on them (k band), plus a amazing 34.7 alert in MI with a sheriff. Was a 90 degree alert from moving LEO coming across the rural interchange. Just under a mile alert for me while he came up to the interchange from the rural road. The LEO then turned onto entrance ramp westbound I94 getting in behind me about 1/4mi. Then gained on us, went past. Eventually I began to pace the LEO and pick the speed back up to match him. He was running Explorer, all C/O. At some point a ghetto leaning DetRiot driver with a Forest Gump IQ went by us at 85+, kept going and went right by the marked sheriff vehicle. Well, did not turn out good for leaning/reclined genius. Was pulled over.

The entire time the GT360 alerted, arrows worked well as always. It did pick up what is a rare BSM alert for a second or two on a Freightliner semi I went past. Otherwise, it run its normal excellence with BSM rejection. I have traveled this path many times. So, in town it had its fixed door opener lockouts running fine (2). Which showed up in gray with no alert.

I am running FW 1.0. Refuse to update creating in my own head a urban legend new FW releases create lockups, reduce range, and BSM perfection takes a hit.

I also ran ER Live the whole time. Not one issue here. And did not cause the GT to lock up either.

I will still keep a wary eye out. For now, I am batting 0.000 with all 360 platforms in my stable locking up.
 
Last edited:

samq45

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
1,546
Reaction score
2,230
Location
Saratoga, NY
What radar detector was giving you the audio alert?
"you can hear the Stir Plus alerting" I think I am going to replace it with the Net radar I have, unless I get another vehicle shortly. I sold the MaxCI I had in a box as Escort quality and performance concerns me.

I don't know what exactly is causing the issues, I just know I cannot rely on this detector. Sometimes is seems to lock and unlock, other times when it locks it stays that way for 20 minutes or more before I unplug it. Escort says everything is fine, but I am done messing with it, its not worth my time when I can use one of the other top tier detectors.
 
Last edited:

RoadDogg

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
767
Reaction score
1,980
Location
Tennessee
"you can hear the Stir Plus alerting" I think I am going to replace it with the Net radar I have, unless I get another vehicle shortly. I sold the MaxCI I had in a box as Escort quality and performance concerns me.

I don't know what exactly is causing the issues, I just know I cannot rely on this detector. Sometimes is seems to lock and unlock, other times when it locks it stays that way for 20 minutes or more before I unplug it. Escort says everything is fine, but I am done messing with it, its not worth my time when I can use one of the other top tier detectors.
I wasn’t able to get your video to upload on my phone, I will try later on my PC. My wife is using our PC now. So are you referring to a “silent” lock up where the detector is on and is displaying highway or auto but the detector just isn’t detecting and alerting to radar (the detector goes to “sleep” aka is on but isn’t responding to radar) or a k-band lock up where the display graph grays out and shows a signal that won’t go away until you power cycle it? It seems like a few people on the RDF are experiencing these issues with recent Escort products.

I don’t have a GT360, but I have a Max360c which just yesterday late afternoon went to “sleep” half way into my 30 minute drive. It was working properly and responding to radar (K-band door openers and a real police K-band encounter), and into the drive I noticed it didn’t respond to a K-band opener that it normally responds to, was completely silent encountering a new Honda CRV with BSM, and a new MDX with BSM. It normally alerts to these vehicles. It also wasn’t alerting to a K-band speed sign at all that was on that it normally alerts to. When I pulled in my driveway, I left the car on, got my Bushnell K-band gun. I pointed the Bushnell at another car in my driveway and no response from my Max360c (my power cord is hardwired). I got two other detectors from my house, I turned my R3 on, and pulled the trigger on my Bushnell, same test, and the R3 immediately alerted with a 24.091 strong warning. Turned on my Whistler CR97, same test, it responded with a strong K-band alert. With the other detectors unplugged, I tried again to get some response from my Max360c, still silent showing Highway mode while I am pulling the K-band trigger at another car in my driveway as to not “overwhelm” the detector. I was trying to get my test on video, and when I was getting my hardware cord loose from headliner, the power disconnected from Max360c. (I was in my driveway, and I didn’t want to post a video of my yard and house,etc). After I turned power back on, the Max360c would alert properly to the Bushnell at 24.091 exactly the same frequency that my R3 displayed. I power cycled the 360c several times, and it responded properly.

So, it appears my Max360c was working fine in my drive then just “went to sleep” still showing Highway but not responding to radar with no error indication. Worked for part of the drive and then nothing. I am definitely going to use my Max360c a lot this weekend to see if I can duplicate this issue.

I agree with you that this is extremely concerning, and I am starting to wonder if I have been experiencing this “silent aka sleeping” lock up more than I have noticed. (I had a Check FR or Reload FR error message on this unit in late March which put the detector to “sleep” for two power cycles). I was just starting to get comfortable with my Max360c, and I am now wondering what is going on with this detector. It seemed to work fine for a couple of months.

I stumbled on your thread while I was searching the Escort and Bel forum for this “sleeping aka silent” lock up issue which I know I at least experienced once in late March. I have also experienced the “traditional K-band lock up” that recent Escort products have experienced with my Max360c. Sorry for the long post, but I hope you can get the issues resolved with your GT360. I know it is frustrating.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

PHILBERT

left lane, behind your [email protected]$$ ugly SUV_ MOVE OVER!
Intermediate User
Joined
Nov 20, 2018
Messages
450
Reaction score
976
I usually run my MAX 360 on Highway with Escort Live (when it decides to connect and run properly...and without changing my over speed limit settings), and have not seen a lockup on the last two versions of firmware in Highway mode. I did upgrade to the latest, and think I see more BSM falses than before. But recently I gave AUTO a try, and now I've had two lockups while getting K band false alerts. I'm back on Highway Mode. And I wish I could roll back a version.

No doubt there are bugs that they can't seem to figure out. As far as EL is concerned, I think the app has issues that go back to core development that has not changed. It needs a lot of improvement...all the way back to its core.

Phil
 

westwind77

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
2,774
Reaction score
5,098
My GT 360, that Purchased a few month ago locks up on a regular basis - pretty much daily in about 2-3 hours of driving, it will not detect any radar when it locks up, K or Ka.
That is the dreaded 'silent lock up'. I wish Escort was more receptive to users reporting issues instead of just saying 'send it in for service'. This is a real issue across the 360 line but they are choosing to ignore this issue it seems. Multiple units across their line are doing this...it is not a defect is production, it is a bug in their firmware that they need too address soon!
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
20,095
Reaction score
48,557
Location
Washington State
Wow I was under the impression this was resolved with the latest updates. Is this all with the latest firmware?
 

RoadDogg

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
767
Reaction score
1,980
Location
Tennessee
That is the dreaded 'silent lock up'. I wish Escort was more receptive to users reporting issues instead of just saying 'send it in for service'. This is a real issue across the 360 line but they are choosing to ignore this issue it seems. Multiple units across their line are doing this...it is not a defect is production, it is a bug in their firmware that they need too address soon!
I just updated my Max360c firmware to 1.9 from 1.8 via the Wi-Fi. I know I have experienced at least one “silent” lock up under 1.8 that at least gave me a brief audible warning with the Check FR or Reload FR message on the display for 3-5 seconds then it went back to displaying highway. My error log said it was Check FR 1. That happened in late March, but my 360c had appeared to be working fine until yesterday afternoon.

Wow I was under the impression this was resolved with the latest updates. Is this all with the latest firmware?
Yes, for me yesterday afternoon on my Max360c this was in firmware 1.9. When I had my FR error message in March, I remembered seeing on one your posts that you also experienced an FR error message. Did you send that Max360c in for service? If so, what did they indicate they did to fix the error . I did get a return authorization from Escort in late March, but I re updated all on the firmware and database on this unit, and I never ended up sending this unit in. The Max360c that I have now is a warranty exchange unit that I received for my original Max360c that I bought in February of this year. I am very glad I have the two year extended warranty with the Escort Service plan given some of the issues I have experienced and reading about other RDF forum member’s issues and problems with certain Bel and Escort detectors.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Bossdad71

Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
7,615
Reaction score
11,101
Location
Kansas
Huh I was under the impression that when it locked up it would be grayed out. Any chance there was interference?
 

westwind77

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
2,774
Reaction score
5,098
Huh I was under the impression that when it locked up it would be grayed out. Any chance there was interference?
There are/were 2 separate and unique lock up issue with the 360 series. The 1st was the audible lock up where it would display the gray bars, and just alert at a consistent tone indefinitely until the under was power cycled. Then there is one like this where the unit appears to be working with no issue, but lacks the ability to alert to signals. This is the more dangerous of the two.

The 1st type of lock up has been addressed with firmware updates and I think they finally have it fixed, although I think there was one report of it happening since so, if not completely fixed, it is 99%. The silent lock up Escort seems to be ignoring or sweeping under the rug.

I have had my unit sleep once before during testing, which really concerned me as you just do not know when it is working and when it is not with that kind of 'error'.

I know you can 'manually' make the 360 sleep with a strong K source at boot for a while, but one latest test shows that to be only a for a few minutes - still enough to get a ticket. I plan to test mine as prior firmware it was a lot longer on my unit.

As always, there could be interference with running 2, but we also know this is an exiting issue for the series so it is hard to nail which one it really is.
 

Bossdad71

Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
7,615
Reaction score
11,101
Location
Kansas
. Then there is one like this where the unit appears to be working with no issue, but lacks the ability to alert to signals. Thi
ok. Well I missed the 2nd and makes sense what happend to my max360 o a month or so ago. I sent it I'm under warranty and they sent it back saying it was resolved. Ummm
 

Biwwdabeah

Doing what bears do.....
General User
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
40
Location
Vancouver, BC Canaduh
I have run my GT360 many many hours, with no lock up. When a couple reports indicated theirs was locking up, I brought portable radar along to test from time to time. Never seen any lock up.

The entire time the GT360 alerted, arrows worked well as always.......

I am running FW 1.0. Refuse to update creating in my own head a urban legend new FW releases create lockups, reduce range, and BSM perfection takes a hit.

I also ran ER Live the whole time. Not one issue here. And did not cause the GT to lock up either.

I will still keep a wary eye out. For now, I am batting 0.000 with all 360 platforms in my stable locking up.
My experience has been like DrHow's. Never had a lockup (that I 'm aware of) and NOT going to update from firmware rev 1.0. I rarely use ER Live any more, little use to me since they deleted history logging.

I was comparing GT-360, Max 360 and MAX 360c manuals and noticed the GT-360 has simpler Meter Modes thus does not have any bogey counter or as many elements to display in (*FR1, *FR2) modes. I saw FR errors mentioned in the thread and wondered if some issues seen in the 360 and 360c but not (as much) in the GT-360 was related to eliminating that logic and reducing the code complexity in the display logic?

-Bill
 
Last edited:

samq45

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
1,546
Reaction score
2,230
Location
Saratoga, NY
Wow I was under the impression this was resolved with the latest updates. Is this all with the latest firmware?
Yes - Even tried to reload it a few times. The GT updates are 1 update behind (I think) the other 360 models, but if they sent out another update in the last week I have not seen that one as I have been away.
Post automatically merged:
I wasn’t able to get your video to upload on my phone, I will try later on my PC. My wife is using our PC now. So are you referring to a “silent” lock up where the detector is on and is displaying highway or auto but the detector just isn’t detecting and alerting to radar
Correct - looks like its working just fine (and it alerted 25 minutes earlier to a trooper, and alerted after I restarted). The only indication is the speed limit on the detector did not change when Live did as I went through different speed zones)
Post automatically merged:
Huh I was under the impression that when it locked up it would be grayed out. Any chance there was interference?
Sure - There is always a chance of interference, but when I have never had a noticeable issue with interference before with the Plus (unlike the R3 and R7) and the radar unit is 20 feet from the detector, it should have alerted, even with some interference (interference most of the time just causes a reduction in range). I can also shut off the plus very easily. When it did lockup I turned the plus off before the video (and turned it back on for the video), the 360 did not alert to the other speed signs until it was reset and then it alerted in the same exact spots it normally does with the Plus on. When I went back through the other direction the 360 alerted about 1000 feet earlier then normal for the unit in the Video, which at the time was forward facing. I noticed the frequency was a lower than normal for the sign, but There were 2 troopers sitting at the sign shooting in both directions to catch the tourists with Detectors off guard.

In the past few months when I suspect it is locked up, I use my ATR with no other detectors around and of course no alert.

Plus when it does do this type of lockup the speed limit from live does not update on the detector, so there is an issue with hardware or software, interference would not cause the speed limit to lock up also.

I really like the detector when it works, some of the additional features that the 360c has, I don't think they were worth the extra coin. I like the way the arrows are in the display, the size is acceptable and with the color I imagine I am driving a 77 Trans Am, just need a cowboy hat :)
 
Last edited:

Up All Night

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
3,615
Reaction score
3,744
Location
Cleveland, OH
Sent my GT-360 in for repairs
Main reason was the error message:
View attachment 113783
And I suspected it was locking up even after updating FW.
It was returned Friday. Quick turn around with a paper that stated that components had been changed because of an engineering update.
Kudos for the fast repair, unfortunately the BT isn’t working.
Calling the support line tomorrow to see if I’m doing something wrong or if it needs to be flashed or sent back again. One would think there is a check list / testing procedure that would include the question ‘Test BT’. Anyway apparently the ‘check fr’ message requires a component change to resolve the issue. For better or worse is yet to be seen.
Also, I saw an ecort email that stated you can extend your warranty if you buy from their web site, if I REM to ask, will see if you can extend warranty while still in warranty period and how much the extension costs.
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
 
Last edited:

FunkyDoc

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
161
Reaction score
326
Location
NJ
Did they specify what type of engineering update they did?
 

Up All Night

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
3,615
Reaction score
3,744
Location
Cleveland, OH
Did they specify what type of engineering update they did?
Problem Found:
Component Value Changed
Solder Insufficient
Resolution:
Resistor Value(s) Changed
Capacitor Value(s) Changed
Solder Connections Reflowed
Second Page: Internal Use Only
S: CS, FR D: CVC, S1 R: ER40, ER41, ER42
Codes mean anything to you?
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
 

Brainstorm69

TXCTG - 2016 MOTY
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
10,632
Reaction score
24,497
Location
Lone Star State
Problem Found:
Component Value Changed
Solder Insufficient
Resolution:
Resistor Value(s) Changed
Capacitor Value(s) Changed
Solder Connections Reflowed
Second Page: Internal Use Only
S: CS, FR D: CVC, S1 R: ER40, ER41, ER42
Codes mean anything to you?
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
Let us know how it works now.
 

Up All Night

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
3,615
Reaction score
3,744
Location
Cleveland, OH
Let us know how it works now.
Returned today to get BT fixed.
Update: And calling today to get the 2 yr warranty extension. $29.99 seems like a prudent investment since its 10 months old and making its second trip home. The FEDEX guy said I’d ask them to pay shipping. I just want it fixed. Had one Ka hit while running it, moon shot like R3, didn’t see source. All the lockout appear to be about the same. So, doesn’t look like what they did made any earth shattering changes in sensitivity. Will play more when it comes back. Maybe even a road trip.

And I was impressed / surprised that Larry tossed a new mag-suction cup and power cord in the box on first return. Standard policy or generous mood that day? LOL
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
 
Last edited:

samq45

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
1,546
Reaction score
2,230
Location
Saratoga, NY
Returned today to get BT fixed.
Update: And calling today to get the 2 yr warranty extension. $29.99 seems like a prudent investment since its 10 months old and making its second trip home. The FEDEX guy said I’d ask them to pay shipping. I just want it fixed. Had one Ka hit while running it, moon shot like R3, didn’t see source. All the lockout appear to be about the same. So, doesn’t look like what they did made any earth shattering changes in sensitivity. Will play more when it comes back. Maybe even a road trip.
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
My Bluetooth stopped also. I decided to plug in in after not using it for a while yesterday and It wont connect to Live at all. I rest it and reloaded the firmware and it just says GT-360 connecting.... in the Live app before it times out. The detector shows the BT signal but will not connect.

Back it goes to them to be fixed again.

I think they have a few quality issue over at the newer plant. No wonder they rebranded this thing as a Cobra.
 

Up All Night

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
3,615
Reaction score
3,744
Location
Cleveland, OH
I tried to connect with iPhone and Samsung on the Live app and with Escargot and talked to ecorts tech who said I was doing everything correctly. Although I do Rem I had to play with for a while when I first got it to get it to connect to the iPhone and that was several iOS updates ago.
No matter how you cut the cards it’s still a 360 and @ $262 it was a deal
Posted from my iPhone using the RDF Mobile App!
 
Last edited:

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
85,152
Messages
1,294,340
Members
21,474
Latest member
Rush2112md
Top