R7 and my Thoughts

VariableWave

Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
1,308
Reaction score
2,761
Location
SEVa
So, I decided to dip my foot in yet another RD 360 detector world, and picked up the R7 from BB. Since I was apparently cut out from the R7 in Pre-Order after putting in my purchase the midnight of, decide to hold off a little and see what came of the R7 in apparent flood of the units. Not sure where it falls in Serial#s, but at some point see how detectable the R7 is to my Spectre III, than others that have provided nice Video of the Spectre Units.

This is a pre evaluation of the unit after a 4 hour ride, which was very quiet on US routes and setup from my R3s that have made them operational. I only had a few “non-LEO” alerts.

For window shield mounting, I can see the issue with the “default” go to WS mount double suction cup. It can bounce around some on the window shield due to lightness of the detector and design of the mount/suction cups. Would have been nice to maintain Black suction cups.

Too add, I am not a fan of the display of information. I did not have an issue with the R3, but the R7 I do. One, I live is an area that Bans Radar Detectors, so discreet is needed for one visually not to be seen day or night regardless! There is no option to remove Speed and or Compass, etc. The Box on the left is not needed if one wants to remove those features, like the R3 which only provides mode of operation. Yes, there is dark, and only at night does one know it is operating with the moving on dot, or sudden alert. I also would like a little “more” dimmer-er mode, if possible, to the OLED. I had a NaviGon GPS that was said couldn’t be made darker, but found the code and made it work.

As for the drive of near 4 hours, no LEOs were picked up, so comparing to other units would have been difficult, but I did see the Advanced mode issue stated regarding the Front vs Rear when dialing back the “sensitively”. Also, I have to run the R7 at full audio 5 of 5 to make near alerting volume to the R3 - 4of5, or it is muffled to Wind and Vehicle noise.

More to come after getting my feet wet, and see if I can provide a display function to alerting that some may agree with.
 
Last edited:

wellfleetion

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
195
Location
MassHole
I love the arrows (of course and mine seem really accurate - early production R7), the large display, added display options, and the true ambient light sensors, in that order. Those 4 things alone are worth the extra $200 and then some considering the R3 was already the king of the hill. But I also find overall range on both K & KA to be superior as well with the R7 so even more of a bonus for me.
 
Last edited:

VariableWave

Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
1,308
Reaction score
2,761
Location
SEVa
I love the arrows (of course and mine seem really accurate - early production R7), the large display, added display options, and the true ambient light sensors, in that order. Those three things alone are worth the extra $200 and then some.

Glad the unit works well for you, but what are you comparing to? R3? V1?
Light sensor is in the wrong location for me mounting high, Display options poor, and arrows, jury is out but I believe with the updated FW I applied today after purchase yesterday, is positive.

Glad the unit works well for you.
 

bslaws

Land of Spuds and Gems.
Advanced User
Joined
Mar 8, 2016
Messages
1,691
Reaction score
3,261
I too bit the bullet and picked up one today from BB. Against all recommendations, I have been running my V1 and R1 together since I received my R1 in the first order. This has been a year an half ago and some 80k miles . The R1 sensitivity is awesome but the ramp up sucks. Also, I could not live without my arrows. I love the ramp-up of my V1 and could always determine how quickly I needed to react to the threat. I can only hope that my new R7 lives up to my R1 as well as my V1.
 

wellfleetion

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
195
Location
MassHole
Glad the unit works well for you, but what are you comparing to? R3? V1?
Light sensor is in the wrong location for me mounting high, Display options poor, and arrows, jury is out but I believe with the updated FW I applied today after purchase yesterday, is positive.

Glad the unit works well for you.
Comparing it to my R3.
 

VariableWave

Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
1,308
Reaction score
2,761
Location
SEVa
What are your thoughts, if Uniden did a display similar to this. I could do without the Square box and Really don't care for the compass, not feature if needed. Speedometer, not needed unless I did not have a Speedo on the vehicle, plus like the R3 is off by 1.5-2 mph.

@UnidenSupport think we would be able to get a display similar this? Cuts out items on the screen not needed, and more to the point in Arrow display to the corner/ eye view.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Bloovy One

135,000+ miles with JBV1!
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
6,782
Reaction score
14,903
Location
Western NC
What are your thoughts, if Uniden did a display similar to this. I could do without the Square box and Really dont care for the compass, not feature if needed. Speedometer, not needed unless I did not have a Speedo on the vehicle, plus like the R3 is off by 1.5-2 mph.
The top box certainly gives some decent info. :)
 

VariableWave

Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
1,308
Reaction score
2,761
Location
SEVa
Top box would be when alerting, to source(s), and if the compass or speed with the Escort like red dot ( don't like the Uniden Bars like Knight rider (too think)) as if it is scanning like a B-Star Galactica Cylon.
 

SixPackABS

Advanced User
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
2,546
Reaction score
2,322
Might just be me but I find my R7 with a tad better range than my R3. Since I cannot run the R7 on my CX5 , I had my R3 run on K band and my R7 on Ka band. Now I have an amputated arrow set-up.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
89,106
Messages
1,355,432
Members
22,435
Latest member
splash94me
Top