R7 FW is on Uniden's site now v122.123.111

cruiser66

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
325
Reaction score
341
Yes, there are new menu settings so you need to run the factory reset after each firmware update.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Thanks Tom.

As a side note, I noticed there is no notification in Windows 10 (neither audible alert nor a pop-up) whenever the USB cable and R7 are first connected to the PC. So there is no 'eject' option in Windows for the R7. Also the detector stays dark when connected to the PC. (Thought my R3 used to light up when I connected it).
However, the Uniden R7 firmware update tool does show the R7 as 'Connected!' and did allow the firmware update to proceed without issue.
 

mbsl500

Completing TPS reports
Advanced User
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Messages
1,590
Reaction score
2,555
Location
20 miles North of the Manson Nixon line.
Nice Honda bandaid until a fix is found; just need this on the R1/3.
If it works...it's nit a ndaud.
Yes, there are new menu settings so you need to run the factory reset after each firmware update.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Thanks Tom.

As a side note, I noticed there is no notification in Windows 10 (neither audible alert nor a pop-up) whenever the USB cable and R7 are first connected to the PC. So there is no 'eject' option in Windows for the R7. Also the detector stays dark when connected to the PC. (Thought my R3 used to light up when I connected it).
However, the Uniden R7 firmware update tool does show the R7 as 'Connected!' and did allow the firmware update to proceed without issue.
Naaa, your R3 didn't light up when you connected it to a PC.
Try it again...you'll see.
 
Last edited:

mattguy10

Keep it under a hundred
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
2,941
Reaction score
4,100
Location
New England
Thanks Tom.

As a side note, I noticed there is no notification in Windows 10 (neither audible alert nor a pop-up) whenever the USB cable and R7 are first connected to the PC. So there is no 'eject' option in Windows for the R7. Also the detector stays dark when connected to the PC. (Thought my R3 used to light up when I connected it).
However, the Uniden R7 firmware update tool does show the R7 as 'Connected!' and did allow the firmware update to proceed without issue.
I get an audible alert when both plugging & unplugging the R7 using Windows 10. I didn’t have an eject option either, but I’m pretty sure there wasn’t one for the R3 either. Also neither detector is supposed to light up while connected to a computer.
 

wellfleetion

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
196
Reaction score
189
Location
MassHole
Uniden is awesome though. This is how you get a loyal following of people willing to spend money on a premium product and the next best thing. Listen, be responsive, and make significant updates that dramatically improve the customer's experience. Keep it up.
 

cruiser66

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
325
Reaction score
341
I get an audible alert when both plugging & unplugging the R7 using Windows 10. I didn’t have an eject option either, but I’m pretty sure there wasn’t one for the R3 either. Also neither detector is supposed to light up while connected to a computer.
Thanks, so mine seems normal then, since I just noticed I had muted my laptop volume earlier today. Will check again next time I update the firmware.
 

thesilverbullet

Clemson Tigers
Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2013
Messages
2,127
Reaction score
1,557
Location
Clemson
Is there anyone who has a copy of the current FW that shipped with the BRD units? 121.122.111 I always like to keep a copy of the ones I'm upgrading from in case there is a problem. Currently I have 121.122.111, but have seen no problems with it. I just want to check out the new features and performance of the newer FW. Thanks!
x2
 

DrHow

Going “Plaid” ASAP (Tesla S) RDT refugee
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
3,476
Reaction score
5,800
Oooh, while that's a fairly wide notch, does that mean we can expect it on the R1/R3 as well? That would be a very welcomed improvement until they can actually "fix" the Honda/Acura BSM issue!
Wide enough to miss some real radar? I seem to remember some reports of LEO using radar in this range. I have not see that yet. Could have missed it. Would be my luck around here they are using K in this range.

Not disputing the overall help from the notch filter. Trying to figure out the risk with it on.
 

G39x

Huntin' Rabbits
Intermediate User
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
670
Reaction score
754
Location
Nashville, TN
I can't remember where, but I think it was NJ or somewhere, but I say 24.204 I believe, I tried to find a Honda to no avail and the signal was just blasting, I knew at that point it was a cop, I didn't see the decals, but saw the light-bar. I think a better plan would be a reduced city-esque sensitivity to the notch, that way we can still get alerted, and also have reduced BSM's. Maybe we can have 2 settings, one for turning off that range, and the other is reduced sensitivity.
 

DrHow

Going “Plaid” ASAP (Tesla S) RDT refugee
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
3,476
Reaction score
5,800
I’ve only ever seen it once, in New Braunfels, at 24.194. I have a mute box in V1Driver starting at 24.197 just for that reason.
TY. I thought that might be you who reported it. +worked around real radar with app.
 

Vancity23

Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2017
Messages
4,845
Reaction score
5,914
Location
Vancouver, B.C.
Thanks Uniden. I am away so cant do this until next week. After the FW update, I assume there is a menu setting to enable this? Can anyone post a quick video?
 

crabu2

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Messages
1,195
Reaction score
1,079
Location
DelMarVa
Wide enough to miss some real radar? I seem to remember some reports of LEO using radar in this range. I have not see that yet. Could have missed it. Would be my luck around here they are using K in this range.

Not disputing the overall help from the notch filter. Trying to figure out the risk with it on.
Although I haven't seen legit LEO rdar up that high, most of my BSM alerts in that range start at 24.196. I sure hope they add the notch filter to the R1/R3.
 

LI2624

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
492
Reaction score
437
Less than a week since official launch, and Uniden has a BSM fix! I think that is pretty amazing. Uniden continues to listen to its customers. Bravo Uniden! Keep up the great work.
 

OldSkool

Military Vet and Tech Guru
Beginner User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
101
Reaction score
89
Location
Texas
I got one of the Best Buy R7 and had a different firmware then most others to begin with. My detector is number 76. Will this firmware update add in any other firmwares mine was missing or uniden added for detectors of later production then mine?. I'm still trying to understand how some R7 models had different FW, depending where purchased from and what batch number product run. I had a very early product run model and had a different FW to start with.
 
Last edited:

JmsWms

Old enough to know better
Intermediate User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
189
Reaction score
213
Location
Tennessee
Once you do the update, you'll be on the same FW as everyone else. You can jump from any version straight to the new one. Just remember to do a factory reset after updating, and redo your settings. A reset is always recommended after an update.
 
Last edited:

DrHow

Going “Plaid” ASAP (Tesla S) RDT refugee
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
3,476
Reaction score
5,800
I got one of the Best Buy R7 and had a different firmware then most others to begin with. My detector is number 76. Will this firmware update add in any other firmwares mine was missing or uniden added for detectors of later production then mine?. I'm still trying to understand how some R7 models had different FW, depending where purchased from and what batch number product run. I had a very early product run model and had a different FW to start with.
Wow, almost collector status with such a low number.

I wonder what last few serial number digits were for beta testers we see test videos on RDF? They say theirs were nothing special and were “production” units like the rest of us.
 

Brainstorm69

TXCTG - 2016 MOTY
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
10,988
Reaction score
25,980
Location
Lone Star State
Wow, almost collector status with such a low number.

I wonder what last few serial number digits were for beta testers we see test videos on RDF? They say theirs were nothing special and were “production” units like the rest of us.
Mine is around the teens.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
86,790
Messages
1,319,615
Members
21,873
Latest member
tbny025
Top