V1D doesn't always seem to auto-connect

wirelessandy

It's a very exciting time
Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
2,014
Reaction score
2,596
Location
SF Bay Area, CA
I'm not sure if it's the V1Driver app, the phone, my bluetooth dongle, etc.

One of the key features about V1Driver I like is the automatic connection feature. Start car, V1Driver connects.

I've noticed a few times my iPhone doesn't get the lock screen notification that V1Driver has connected. Tapping on the V1Driver icon appears to get things going.

I notice this behavior after I've restarted the phone, which I'd expect.

Am I missing something?
iPhone Xs iOS 12.1
V1D v2.0.50.411
Background App Refresh on (wifi & cellular)
Notifications: all on (Show Previews: Always)
 

mswlogo

Software Developer
Advanced User
Premium Member
Software Developer
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
3,900
Reaction score
4,098
Location
MA
It occasionally might not connect immediately but will after a few minutes. Sometimes after a large OS update or new phone it might need some help. iOS is the thing that decides to fire it up. And adds it to the list of things to start after you have “trained it” a few times. In other words if it starts to forget, just help it along a few times and then it should continue on its own.

Sometimes it’s worth reviewing all your apps that run in background or use GPS always. It might be competing with other apps iOS fires up.

You need to think carefully which apps really need/want GPS always and background processing. Some apps might surprise you that they do need background processing to function properly. So don’t disable everything until you understand what you get for having it on. Same goes for GPS always.

Make sure GPS accuracy is good and Bluetooth strength is good.
 
Last edited:

wirelessandy

It's a very exciting time
Advanced User
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
2,014
Reaction score
2,596
Location
SF Bay Area, CA
Good point! I'll review what apps are sucking up GPS juice.

Make sure GPS accuracy is good
Dumb question: Is that a setting? I noticed some adjustments for that.
 

mswlogo

Software Developer
Advanced User
Premium Member
Software Developer
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
3,900
Reaction score
4,098
Location
MA
Good point! I'll review what apps are sucking up GPS juice.



Dumb question: Is that a setting? I noticed some adjustments for that.
In your phone wide settings you can search for location. You’ll see “location privacy” under there you’ll see every app that can use location and what it’s set to. V1Driver must be set to Always.

Same goes for background processing. If you search for background in Settings you’ll see “background app refresh - general” click it and it will show all apps that can do background processing and if they are enabled to do so.

You can also check battery stats and that may give a hint if other apps are running more than you expected in background.
 

GolNat

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
85
Reaction score
37
Location
DE
This thread came up in my search and I don’t feel my question needs it’s own thread.

V1Driver must be set to Always
Is this what keeps the app running while you are not actively in the app or is this for auto-connecting?
 

mswlogo

Software Developer
Advanced User
Premium Member
Software Developer
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
3,900
Reaction score
4,098
Location
MA
This thread came up in my search and I don’t feel my question needs it’s own thread.



Is this what keeps the app running while you are not actively in the app or is this for auto-connecting?
It’s combination of several settings. Background, Bluetooth and Location Always is the only way it will AutoConnect.
 
Last edited:

GolNat

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
85
Reaction score
37
Location
DE
It’s combination of all several settings. Background, Bluetooth and Location Always is the only way it will AutoConnect.
Thanks. Does it need to be set to Always in order for the GPS lockouts to work or can I have it set to "only when using the app" and go to my music playlist and have it still run GPS in the backround?

I don't like running Always as I have an older iPhone with a lower capacity battery and no WiFi at home.
Post automatically merged:

@mswlogo Never mind. Tried it tonight on my way home and worked exactly like I had hoped it would. Amazing app 🤘 loving it so far.
 
Last edited:

mswlogo

Software Developer
Advanced User
Premium Member
Software Developer
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
3,900
Reaction score
4,098
Location
MA
Thanks. Does it need to be set to Always in order for the GPS lockouts to work or can I have it set to "only when using the app" and go to my music playlist and have it still run GPS in the backround?

I don't like running Always as I have an older iPhone with a lower capacity battery and no WiFi at home.
Post automatically merged:

@mswlogo Never mind. Tried it tonight on my way home and worked exactly like I had hoped it would. Amazing app 🤘 loving it so far.
It is not “Always” using GPS. It is “Always” using your “location”. When you move your phone from night stand to your car, that does not require GPS. But the phone can figure out that you moved “location”.

On a “fresh” phone V1Driver might use 1-2% of your battery. But on a poor battery it might be a bit more.
 
Last edited:

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
85,388
Messages
1,297,999
Members
21,530
Latest member
jgazette
Top