YaV1 lockouts make leo stick out,

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
Going home tonight in my small town where all falses are locked out and found a new unmarked K band... There was no second guessing but as I looked for him while getting full signal the arrows switched to rear and I never saw him in the dark! ... So I turned around and started video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGb6NGg0VwU&sns=em
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
Lots of K band here, prob old guns..

---------- Post added at 11:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:41 PM ----------

Your right Vortex! I never noticed!.. That's even higher than what I thought v1 scanned!

Valentine ranges :
X band (10.500 - 10550) Ghz
K band (24.050 - 24.250) Ghz
Ka band (33.391 - 36.000) Ghz
Ku band (13.400 - 13.500) Ghz

V1 frequency Abilities "shows oversweep abilities"

X Band - 10.490 - 10.560
K Band - 24.035 - 24.265
Ka Band "33.8" - 33.350 - 34.530
Ka Pop - 33.675 - 33.925
Ka Low "34.7" - 33.350 - 34.915
Ka High "35.5" - 34.530 - 36.080
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
21,847
Reaction score
59,064
Location
Washington State
So what would be a safe "box" to set for K-band with YaV1?

Safe? There isn't one for K band unfortunately. Both falses and legit signals can be all over the place...
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
The best you could do is mute the areas with very high concentrations of false, but that's suicide.

For instance a favorite false I see both moving and stationary is 24.123...but I see Leo with it too!

Savvy + K mute timings + lockouts + k-pop off and setting mute levels right work well.
 

2FastNot2Furious

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
52
Reaction score
8
Great video!

Since LEO can be expected on any of the 3 bands, will anyone share their custom sweeps for all 3 bands?
Especially for us folks here in Texas.

Thanks.
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
Which 3? We only have control manually over what can be swept 35.5 & 34.7, the rest is hard-coded.

Muting is a different game than sweeping.
Sweeping literally determines what the V1 scans "sweeps" for.
 

protias

Retired CM enthusiast / Train Horn Advocate
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
23,741
Reaction score
19,289
Location
WI
24.272?! The highest I saw was 24.215, and I thought that was pretty dang high!
 

2FastNot2Furious

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
52
Reaction score
8
The three I am referring to is X, K & Ka Band.

Maybe I am not understanding the sweeps properly.
I take it as, for X band set a specific range, same for K and KA. V1 then looks for only those signals within that specific range.

Therefore you should have 3 profiles for 3 bands.

X band - xx.xxx - xx.xxx
K band - xx.xxx - xx.xxx
Ka band - xx.xxx - xx.xxx

Am I understanding this right?
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
You have the idea right but you can only sweep 33383 to 36072 which is 33.8, 34.7 & 35.5 but no one adds sweeps to 33.8.

If you set parameters there it doesn't remove the 5 hard-coded 33.8 ones that are already force sweeping so your really adding to what's already there, regardless of how wide or tight you choose.

When when you look at the rest of that span it's up for grabs as to what you want to scan when in euro mode.

So wisdom says to sweep away what you can to still be safe as it removes falses and increases performance.

But EVERYTHING else (X band, K band, your stuck with it all)

So if there are any parts you want to mute in areas you feel is safe where leo doesn't go, then you can mute with your box muting.

While some have voiced they wish K band sweeping was available it not, you can only mute.

But K band delay muting in V1 settings is OK but few few would recommend totally muting any portion of k band.

It's a small band so no performance gain and very dangerous to exclude any if it as leo can be anywhere.

If you are absolutely sure you have no K band threats you can turn it completely off....

Some do that temporarily when in the city by simply switching from large C to small c by pushing the knob on v1 when in euro mode.
If in A mode, it turns to L mode with one push "no K band visual or audio" (not recommend) or push again to get to little "l" mode which only removes K band audio.

Instead of that when in the city some prefer turning on Tmf but is risky for instant on/off shots as it brings a 1/2 second delay... K mute timings is safer as you maintain full sensitivity and the V1 still alerts while muting the first 3 seconds or however you set it.

There are many tools and it's up to every user how to implement.

Next YaV1 release will have some safe presets to make it easy to get up and running till you decide how to customize further.
 

NVR2FST

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
1,757
Reaction score
1,671
Location
Somewhere in cyberspace.
You can only control Ka-band sweeps, and only when you are using Euro mode. X and K bands are fixed. You can only control their muting behavior. Of course you can turn any band off. Many of us do not scan X-band if none is present in our driving area.
 

PointerCone

M3 Kng
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
22,366
Reaction score
22,720
Great video!

Since LEO can be expected on any of the 3 bands, will anyone share their custom sweeps for all 3 bands?
Especially for us folks here in Texas.

Thanks.

Are you talking X, K and Ka or within Ka specifically. There's a dedicated thread for that!!! X and K can NOT be segged.......................

Francky has indicated that he could indeed sweep K band, BUT chose NOT to do so. Its narrow and could be dangerous to sweep.
 

francky06l

Software Developer
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
1,972
Reaction score
1,958
Well actually I did try to sweep K band, but V1 does not accept it (I was scared to brick the V1 when I did, but it went with an E and everything was fine after a power cycle). It's not possible to sweep K band (so far ..)
 

PointerCone

M3 Kng
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
22,366
Reaction score
22,720
Well actually I did try to sweep K band, but V1 does not accept it (I was scared to brick the V1 when I did, but it went with an E and everything was fine after a power cycle). It's not possible to sweep K band (so far ..)

FWIW, they (Escort Radar) are sweeping K band on European (International editions) of the Max and several others, so it is possible to sweep K band.......https://www.rdforum.org/showthread.php?t=36319&highlight= (See posts 3 and 4)
 

francky06l

Software Developer
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
1,972
Reaction score
1,958
I see that the Max has segment on the International edition, but I am not aware of this on the V1. I do not know if there is something different in the international edition (if any) though. That would be a really good thing to have the K segmented, especially for some countries in EU.
 

jdong

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
7,444
Reaction score
11,580
I see that the Max has segment on the International edition, but I am not aware of this on the V1. I do not know if there is something different in the international edition (if any) though. That would be a really good thing to have the K segmented, especially for some countries in EU.

Imagine if the Escort Live protocol supported setting a custom map for the 512 frequency buckets on the Max's DSP system....
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
95,502
Messages
1,453,240
Members
24,478
Latest member
danimajado
Top