YaV1 2.0 auto-lockouts what they're cracked up to be?

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
While testing has been going on quite a while now I've never captured the sweet occurrence I got this morning.

As many know, YaV1 is soon releasing version 2.0 with auto-lockouts that use the signal strength differences between front and rear horns to judge whether a new signal introduced matches an existing lockout within the same radius and drift range.

I just was going down a stretch where everything is autolocked out and had 3 falses showing "all locked out with one being 24.143 near an intersection with a gas station /store on the other side of the split double Lane roads, and I noticed I got an additional audible 24.143 but it was untagged as if a new alert?

Sure enough about 30 seconds later a Leo passed me from the opposite direction and the arrow for his untagged alert shifted rear.

Strength alerts are working exactly as intended! Leo had the exact same frequency as one of the 3 lockouts yet the V1 showd an additional bogey and YaV1 did not mix leo up with the identical lockout!



Sent from my GS4 Zombie Communicator
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559
Cool.... Question, if we download 2.0 when it is ready, will we have to reprogram all our settings/ sweeps and will we lose all of our current lockouts?
 

jrollercoasters

PSL +15
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 27, 2013
Messages
1,999
Reaction score
619
Age
28
Location
Hickory, NC
Cool.... Question, if we download 2.0 when it is ready, will we have to reprogram all our settings/ sweeps and will we lose all of our current lockouts?
You won't have to reprogram everything, but yes all your lockouts will be erased, but it's awesome watching auto lock outs do its magic
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559
No worries, heck it will be worth it to start from scratch. Now that I know how to navigate all the areas and what the settings do should be a snap. (Read the 42 page manual 2 times already, some parts took a bit to settle in) Thanks Jrollercoasters
 

jrollercoasters

PSL +15
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 27, 2013
Messages
1,999
Reaction score
619
Age
28
Location
Hickory, NC
No worries, heck it will be worth it to start from scratch. Now that I know how to navigate all the areas and what the settings do should be a snap. (Read the 42 page manual 2 times already, some parts took a bit to settle in) Thanks Jrollercoasters
Yea and trust me you'll have plenty more reading, come next update, it's a great update tho, it's came a long way
 

Chromatic

Premium Member
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3,058
Reaction score
3,036
Location
Birmingham, AL
You won't have to reprogram everything, but yes all your lockouts will be erased, but it's awesome watching auto lock outs do its magic


Yup.. you guys are going to love the Auto-lockouts.. It's a real game changer for the V1,.. And it eliminates the "risk" that Mikey V. talks about due to very careful coding, testing, and not just locking out huge chunks of the band like Escort does . It's fun to watch, fast, and completely customizable about how many times you want it to take for it to lockout a signal, and how many times you want it to take "passes" to unlock a locked signal that no longer exists when you pass that GPS location.

I don't even manually lockout.. I just let the auto-lockout do it's thing. :)
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559
Oh thats way neat.. lockout on 2nd pass for me and unlock after 5 misses would be really cool

So when is he expecting it to be ready / released?
 

jrollercoasters

PSL +15
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 27, 2013
Messages
1,999
Reaction score
619
Age
28
Location
Hickory, NC
Eta is still kinda unsure, but auto lockouts are dialed in and working great so I would say very soon
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
As JR said the old pre 2.0 lockouts did not record strength parameters like they do now, also I believe Franky maybe has added an extra column in preparation for AI also.

But the old DB is not lost should you decide to go back to 1.1.6.

You can save your YaV1 Settings and they will transfer over but there are lots of changes.. The whole lockout / expert section is revamped completely.

Also neat tools added to change savvy settings on the fly "temporary when you restart they go back to Settings" and can bounce to custom sweep profiles instantly on the fly, freeze unfreeze auto-lockouts etc.

Won't go through everything now but it's a new program!... Redoing the manual will be intense.

Auto lockouts on the surface was easy for Franky, adjusting a much lower radius size and drift settings was a no brainer.

But then we played with gps directional lockouts which finally proved to be fragile in recognizing existing lockouts as device gps hw often are not super accurate even when removing coarse abilities to get a setting from nearby wifi , buildings, etc which make acquisition slower especially driving 70mph things change quick when dealing with gps.

Then Franky got a brainstorm which personally I was very skeptical of and did voice my concerns of reflecting signals, inconsistent signals from day to day with nearby moving obstacles "cars", crappy door opener radars (humidity, temp, and day/night) , as well as angle of the car which has the V1 mounted.

Franky was able to factor sufficient graces to allow for error but still enough to capture obvious signal differences.

The signal analysis is disabled when driving slower than ~22 mph which allows for parking lot driving where your car may be at a different angle everytime you enter and exit.

While we always had manual lockouts at our disposal that's not practical all the time.. It's really nice when auto handles it all.

It was extremely hard to establish consecutive consistent runs to get a lockout in a parking lot when the angle of the car varied so much and the signals there were so intermittent.

Buts lots of trial and error I think we have it!

Vortex and HC as well as Franky himself did more elaborate testing than I by using their pocket radars to simulate leo when near a lockout of similar frequency.

It's been a bigger challenge than anticipated to bring this new technology!

But no other vendor can match it unless they want to install two opposing horns!

Big far kudos to Franky for his exhausting work and patience with me especially... LOL!


Sent from my GS4 Zombie Communicator
 

Chromatic

Premium Member
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3,058
Reaction score
3,036
Location
Birmingham, AL
I'm admittidly new to this small group of Alpha testers and basically a development team surrounding Francky .. but it's what I do in Real life, so as soon as I got the V1 I jumped right in. It's VERY close to release,.. I can't speak for Francky of course, but judging by the lack of bugs, how absolutely FLAWLESS it is working now.. it's just minor tweaks and a little more time to ensure a few things and it'l be out. I'd guess it'l be released in the first half of July, but that's a guess.

I found a bug today,.. and Francky is working on it,.. a small bug/glitch that doesn't affect performance but needs to be cleaned up before the public release. Beyond this small bug I can't honestly find anything else that would prevent it from Public release, and this one is so small that Francky can probably solve it in 10-15 minutes honestly.

You guys are going to love it,.. especially the people who want to use YAV1 but find it a bit too complicated or too much of a hassle to manually lockout everything -- or even those who have other detectors that lockout but you REALLY want to use your V1 with arrows or get one and the Auto lockout GPS of the Escort model(s) have been the one thing keeping you away.

Also there are SO many more things coming down the pipeline.. Next is A.I. -- and we are building a Model for that right now which is what you see when you see any video footage of someone selecting Static/Moving, True/False, and Report etc.. -- I have 11 more features Francky is keen to work on,.. but I'm personally holding back on getting into them with the Alpha group team so we can all stay focused on one feature at a time.. I know from experience working on half a dozen things at once often results in a lack of quality and polish (sort of like Escort live is).. but focusing on one feature at a time, then release, rinse repeat results in a very polished, and clean/bug free experience.

But I've rambled enough -- I know it's teasing people that use YAV1 .. but it's close as it can be. And I believe it'l just be released out of the blue.. as that's sort of Francky's style .. not setting a date like "July 11th" but just dropping it when he feels confident in the result.

I can't take really any credit for much as I've only been involved this week,.. so remember to obviously LOVE Francky but there are a handful of other VERY dedicated people assisting him in anyway they can. :) RDF is such a great community.

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:03 PM ----------

Won't go through everything now but it's a new program!... Redoing the manual will be intense.

I read your entire manual on Day one every word, every page cover to cover ;) -- I'm going to help with Version "2.x" -- If you don't mind,.. We'll discuss just what I have in mind and how I can help in the alpha email, etc.. But we'll make it super nice,.. YAV1 deserves it! :)
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559
Already know one big bonus. I run waze with Yav1 in the background. Auto learning means no more toggling back and forth to manually lockout falses. Auto lockouts will be Super cool, I can just run it in the background of Waze and let it do its stuff.
 

Chromatic

Premium Member
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3,058
Reaction score
3,036
Location
Birmingham, AL
Already know one big bonus. I run waze with Yav1 in the background. Auto learning means no more toggling back and forth to manually lockout falses. Auto lockouts will be Super cool, I can just run it in the background of Waze and let it do its stuff.


Yes Sir. The best comparison I can make is this new version is turning the V1C into a Passport Max, only SAFE (And obviously better all-around because it's a V1 :D ). In that the lockout scheme/algorithm(s) used are very precise and checked and double checked to ensure they don't block a legit cop on the same frequency in the same area.

I have a Passport Max,.. and the Autolockouts was one of the biggest worries I had with going to the V1C -- once I talked to Francky about them I bought the V1C within hours lol.

When I finally figure out how to get a solid , high powered (same power a police gun would be) , Ka Gun,.. I'll be doing a ton of videos on the Passport Max with EL verse the V1C with YAV1 in all scenarios. So if anyone has a gun to sell for cheap, I'm in the market. ;)
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559

mikedotd

Arrow Enthusiast
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
3,305
Reaction score
5,500
Location
New England
Hopefully we can adjust them... but it sounds pretty dialed in.

Yeah, personally I'd like this to be a user-adjustable setting again. I like having the freedom to shoot myself in the foot. :)
 

Freebird

Poking the bears.
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
4,746
Reaction score
8,559
Yeah, personally I'd like this to be a user-adjustable setting again. I like having the freedom to shoot myself in the foot. :)

I got 2 sources locked out that I have the max diameter selected but still they were too big to lock out as one, so I locked them out as 2. Both are speed signs.
 

Chromatic

Premium Member
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3,058
Reaction score
3,036
Location
Birmingham, AL
What are the parameters for auto lock outs?


This isn't an "all inclusive" list.. But just to give you some of the major ones:

Lockout when Detected -- An option that lets you select how many times the detector has to pick up the static GPS signal before it actually locks it out. Currently you can choose between 2 times - 8 times. (This can be modified quite easily) *Default = 3*

Clear lockout if NOT Detected -- The reverse of above,.. How many times it takes for the detector/YAV1 to detect the signal NOT present anymore at the specific location that is locked out before it will Unlock the frequency at said GPS location. Currently you can choose between 2 Times up to 20 Times. *Default = 5"

Extra Times to remove manual Lockout - Default is Zero (Thus "off" essentially)

Radius of Detection - Default currently is 300 meters / 328 Yards.. and can be customized so far from 100 Meters / 109 Yards to 400 meters / 437 Yards.

There are more.. like Signal strength Algorithm options.. when on you can select the error threshold, etc.

Options to show visually when it's "Learning, but before it's locked out of course" --

Customization of the colors used to indicate all of said modes, from Learning, to lockouts, and of course any Manual lockouts.

For example I have Manual lockouts on mine set in a background of RED,.. Learning mode in Cyan,.. and Locked out is a Dark Royal Blue. But with the color palate you can choose whatever makes the most visual sense to you.

Hope that gives you some idea. :)

Note: Some of this is definitely subject to change before final release,.. but it'l be for the better if so.
 

Windstrings

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
8,036
Reaction score
4,127
Location
Central Texas
Good thing you came in when you did Chromatic, a couple weeks earlier we almost killed each other! "just kidding" but suffice to say it's a good team with diverse backgrounds, and needs and ways of looking at things. When one of us thought we were done, another world find an issue.. I guess that's exactly how it's supposed to work! If we were all looking through the same eyeglasses, it could be trouble when it went public.

Franky is a good quarterback often giving us all separate assignments to work on all at the same time.

Like preparing Thanksgiving dinner, takes all day to prepare them people sit down and eat in 30 minutes and never realize the work that went into it.

I wonder what Frankies bill will be when he's all done!

Sent from my GS4 Zombie Communicator
 

Chromatic

Premium Member
Advanced User
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3,058
Reaction score
3,036
Location
Birmingham, AL
I got 2 sources locked out that I have the max diameter selected but still they were too big to lock out as one, so I locked them out as 2. Both are speed signs.


Usually this is due to the drift that occurs with every signal .. One automatic Door radar for example may actually be 3-4+ signals locked out if that makes sense,.. due to drift,.. but this makes it very precise, and safer.
 

CJR238

RDF founding father
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
17,940
Reaction score
15,711
Location
CT- 4Runner - ALP - V1/RedLine/Waze
Thanks for the details, i cant wait to test it out. With my long term experience of TrueLock and Autolearn on Escorts this should be very cool to test and see how much better it will be.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
95,501
Messages
1,453,219
Members
24,478
Latest member
danimajado
Top