Powering V1 and V1C on battery

Benji

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
Given my stability issues with powering the V1 and V1C through the cigarette lighter adaptor I was wondering if anyone has powered theirs through a separate battery? I was thinking about using the hardwire kit I have and connecting the power leads to something like this:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/UPG-85983...s-12V-5-AH-.187-Tab-Terminals-UB1250/21618810

But I'm no electrician so I'm not sure how much of a bad idea this is. According to specs on V1's website the V1 never draws more than 425mA in full alert:

http://www.valentine1.com/v1info/pdf/manual_2012/Pg34_Specifications.pdf

Throw in the V1C and I would imagine something like 500mA and highly unlikely to be anything more than 600mA. Any thoughts?

azu5021

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Reaction score
Well if you have a poor connection I would try out the brown out booster:
http://www.valentine1.com/v1info/bob.asp

it basically acts like a short term batter that will keep the deivce on if the power drops momentarly.

Something like this could also work for you:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002YT84QM/?tag=rdf0cd0c-20

Both of these would work if your 12v just 'glitches' sometimes and drops the voltage.

If your 12v outlet doesn't work you could run it through an external battery, just be sure both systems are completely isolated from each other.

Addtionally, you could always just hardwire it using a vampire tap or an add-a-fuse and get 12v that way.

Benji

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
I want to run it from a separate battery because this is my girlfriend's car and I don't want to tap anything into her loom, yes it should be absolutely fine but I want to avoid it and it's also her wishes so I'm not going to argue with her :D