Maxcam 360 Impressions and Issues

Zandian

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
50
Very disappointed so far. I like the look of the Maxcam, particularly a multifunction dial and mute button in the front. It’s a nice look overall. But I haven’t been able to view anything from the gallery it simply sits and spins! :-(

However, from the live view the resolution is nice but because the camera is attached to the radar detector, when I mount under the rear view mirror with my blend mount half the screen is my dashboard. Only way I can change it is point the detector up which doesn’t look or seem right. With my Redline 360c and M2 I can point the camera up high enough to avoid the dash. I know most of what might happen will be right in front and not up but it’s distracting having half the view obscured by the dash. I think Escort should have pointed the camera up a bit, or given a way to adjust it up. But again, I have no way to judge the recordings because I can’t see them!

The Maxcam seems to disconnect from the app regularly as well. Seems there are some important bugs to work out.

In terms of the sensitivity. I’ve had about three alerts in town that I know was a cop car. In all cases the maxcam alerted slightly sooner than the Redline; however, the Redline dropped off slightly later. The Maxcam also seems to switch from front, to side to back a bit faster.

I don’t know man, I may be sending the Maxcam back simply because I can’t adjust the camera and I’m worried the camera may become obsolete before the radar detector-even if the Maxcam has better resolution.

Z
Post automatically merged:

Very disappointed so far. I like the look of the Maxcam, particularly a multifunction dial and mute button in the front. It’s a nice look overall. But I haven’t been able to view anything from the gallery it simply sits and spins! :-(

However, from the live view the resolution is nice but because the camera is attached to the radar detector, when I mount under the rear view mirror with my blend mount half the screen is my dashboard. Only way I can change it is point the detector up which doesn’t look or seem right. With my Redline 360c and M2 I can point the camera up high enough to avoid the dash. I know most of what might happen will be right in front and not up but it’s distracting having half the view obscured by the dash. I think Escort should have pointed the camera up a bit, or given a way to adjust it up. But again, I have no way to judge the recordings because I can’t see them!

The Maxcam seems to disconnect from the app regularly as well. Seems there are some important bugs to work out.

In terms of the sensitivity. I’ve had about three alerts in town that I know was a cop car. In all cases the maxcam alerted slightly sooner than the Redline; however, the Redline dropped off slightly later. The Maxcam also seems to switch from front, to side to back a bit faster.

I don’t know man, I may be sending the Maxcam back simply because I can’t adjust the camera and I’m worried the camera may become obsolete before the radar detector-even if the Maxcam has better resolution.

Z
Also, the Maxcam is not reporting speed limit. It’s showing white, which I believe means it’s connected to the internet. I’m pretty sure I have the latest firmware, but not sure about the latest GoLive database. The app says I have a GoLive subscription into 2022. Do I somehow need to register this new device?

Z
 
Last edited:

Euurx

Cat Lover
Intermediate User
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
1,320
Reaction score
2,645
Location
NY
I don't generally recommend buying anything that is first gen at least until it has stable firmware releases or bug fixes.. If I was in your case, I'd return the MaxCam and continue using the M2 with the Redline. I'd actually ideally recommend a dedicate dashcam for the front and rear of the car.

It would drive me insane if I couldn't see the recordings. Is there not an option to plug the RD into a PC and pull recordings?
 

westwind77

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
9,618
In terms of the sensitivity. I’ve had about three alerts in town that I know was a cop car. In all cases the maxcam alerted slightly sooner than the Redline; however, the Redline dropped off slightly later. The Maxcam also seems to switch from front, to side to back a bit faster.
You should not run both together as the Maxcam will interfere with the RL.
 

xt18

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 9, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
40
Also, the Maxcam is not reporting speed limit. It’s showing white, which I believe means it’s connected to the internet. I’m pretty sure I have the latest firmware, but not sure about the latest GoLive database. The app says I have a GoLive subscription into 2022. Do I somehow need to register this new device?

Z
My Redline 360c has the same issue with not displaying speed limits over wifi, works only over Bluetooth. Wifi gets the white speed icon with -- as speed limit.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,738
Reaction score
8,315

westwind77

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
9,618
And the RL will interfere with the Max Cam too!
I agree.... although theoretically considerably less given it is 'stealth'.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,738
Reaction score
8,315
I agree.... although theoretically considerably less given it is 'stealth'.
The only theoretical is if you believe Escort's marketing. Just like the original Redline, it does emit RF, and it's actually quite strong and able to be picked up by detectors in the same car. Maybe it would appear to be less interfering because it causes fewer false alerts on other detectors, but that just means either the other detector is filtering out its garbage or its garbage is in a range the detector is not designed to alert to. But the fact there are emissions means it can still impact performance. In fact, the RL360C can cause other detectors to false to Ka.
 

westwind77

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
9,618
The only theoretical is if you believe Escort's marketing. Just like the original Redline, it does emit RF, and it's actually quite strong and able to be picked up by detectors in the same car. Maybe it would appear to be less interfering because it causes fewer false alerts on other detectors, but that just means either the other detector is filtering out its garbage or its garbage is in a range the detector is not designed to alert to. But the fact there are emissions means it can still impact performance. In fact, the RL360C can cause other detectors to false to Ka.
Yes, there is no doubt it emits RF - it 'should' be considerably less than the Maxcam though given it is 'stealth' The G2 does pick up a false to the RL when I boot it up but the G2 will not product a false on the RL. Just like the M360 will create a false when booting to the G2 & R3. The difficult aspect is at what point does a certain level or RF affect the performance of another RD running in close proximity. That is a question we really do not have any answers to so, as you well now, always recommend against running two together.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,738
Reaction score
8,315
Yes, there is no doubt it emits RF - it 'should' be considerably less than the Maxcam though given it is 'stealth' The G2 does pick up a false to the RL when I boot it up but the G2 will not product a false on the RL. Just like the M360 will create a false when booting to the G2 & R3. The difficult aspect is at what point does a certain level or RF affect the performance of another RD running in close proximity. That is a question we really do not have any answers to so, as you well now, always recommend against running two together.
The RL360C will continue to false the R3 and V1G2 as well. But that's only one part of the emissions it's putting out.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
6,600
Reaction score
16,001
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
You can pop the SD card out, use an SD card/USB adaptor and grab them
On your computer. That’s how I do it.

I too am having issues with Drive Smarter.

To be fair, I can’t view the video files “Live” using my VIOFO A129 Duo using their app either…. And they are a dedicated, long time dash cam company. I can download them that way …. But it’s taken a few FW updates to get it stable.

As for leakage? The Max360C is no where near stealth. It sets my remote RC-M off like crazy to 35.5 whenever I pull up to a building or even a car in front of me at a set of lights.

I’m not going to get into the interference debate too much. A remote and a WS detector. That’s pushing it.

2 windshield mounts together….. for testing…. Absolutely not. Doesn’t matter if their stealth or not.
 
Last edited:

SaberOne

Learning to Drive
Premium Plus
General User
Joined
Sep 29, 2021
Messages
19
Reaction score
39
Location
Lizard Spit aka Yuma, Arizona
Dang, and not yet a single positive comment about this new $850 device. I just ordered this last night, and I already have a sense of buyers' remorse. However, I watched a video by 'Vortex-Ariel' where he mentioned all the great features combined with his purchase, so I figured if it's good enough for him, then it's good enough for me. Maybe it's too early to tell for sure. 🤞
 
Last edited:

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
That's really great feedback! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

I've had similar angling issues when mounting the detector low and have been mounting it up high by the RVM. It's been tricky to get it fitting properly up there, using my sunvisor, and making sure my RVM works properly. I also have to slightly Cobra mount it and angle it up to have it fit properly, but that's more of a fit issue than an aiming issue. It would indeed be nice if we could angle the dashcam lens independently of the dashcam.

The speed limit info doesn't work at all over WiFi, but it does seem to work over Drive Smarter. Have you tried disconnecting from WiFi and relying on BT instead? That should do the trick. I'm not wild about their new Drive Smarter app overall though. It's supposed to get an update early next month so I've been focusing more on the dashcam.

I'm not sure if the RD becoming obsolete soon should be a big issue. It's a pretty new unit. I just did some red barn testing today and it definitely held its own.

This launch is kinda reminding me of the Redline 360c with a number of bugs and issues that you wouldn't expect from a premium product. I expect Escort to continue improving this, but I really wish they ensured the product was more fully refined before launch.
 
Last edited:

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
Dang, and not yet a single positive comment about this new $850 device. I just ordered this last night, and I already have a sense of buyers' remorse. However, I watched a video by 'Vortex-Ariel' where he mentioned all the great features combined with his purchase, so I figured if it's good enough for him, then it's good enough for me. Maybe it's too early to tell for sure. 🤞
haha yeah, without having a product on hand early, all we really know in the beginning are features and specs, as well as how the company has handled product launches previously. Now that we're all getting our detectors, we're finally all able to start sharing our initial impressions and eventually get to the reviews. That stuff takes time though. :)

I'm looking forward to hearing your experiences once you get yours in as well. The more of us testing and sharing, the better!
 
Last edited:

22 Spyder

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
20
Glad I have a few months before my car gets to the dealership. Hopefully things get resolved quickly.

Zandian< are you able to take a screen shot of your phone while in the live cam to show the angle of the camera? From the few videos I've seen I didn't notice the camera facing down too much.​

 

BfromORD

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 29, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
9
Location
Chicago
Hi all. Well, I took the plunge and picked up the MAXcam 360c. I just unboxed it and programmed my preferences in both the App and detectorcam settings. I was just in the market looking at dash cams after an incident a few feet away from me with a truck blowing through a red light. But I have three vehicles, one of which is Italian, so the thought of hardwiring was both scary and potentially expensive if I wanted to wire up all three, so when I saw that Escort was releasing this unit, I made the purchase. As others have mentioned, the downfall thus far seems to be the App, hence my joining of this forum. Connecting and random disconnecting has made both viewing video and updating firmware thus far impossible in the three hours I sat in my idling car. I actually got it to update the firmware all the way through, the unit rebooted. All looked well, but it still says it’s v1.2 and the App keeps indicating a “new firmware version is available.” So, I tried running it again, and… Nothing. The App freezes and I call the App a few choice words. Phone says it’s connected via Bluetooth, App tells me the detectorcam is out of range. Oh, and one other oddity, the time stamp on the live video is wrong, even though in the App it’s correct. It defaults to “Automatic” for the time/date, but trying to fix the time stamp, I thought I’d switch it to “Manual.” But when I do that, it instantly crashes the App. In any case, I shouldn’t be surprised as my first MAX360 was equally temperamental and eventually Escort replaced it under warranty to a later model that had a less bi-polar Bluetooth module, and it has since been flawless. That said, I am not eliminating the possibility that I am a moron and doing something wrong, so hopefully you all can help me figure this thing out as more come online. If I have time, I’ll call Escort and relay what they say. Otherwise, programming was easy. It’s still “learning” so the alerts are coming fast and furious. But the dial and front mute button are great upgrades and the size doesn’t bother me at all. If I can just get the App to work and the firmware to update, this thing might just be awesome.
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
Yeah the app experience is pretty bad. The detector seems pretty good, but not so much the app. Escort says it should get an update next month. Hopefully it addresses all these issues… Try doing the update over wifi. It works way better than with the app.
 

j080808

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 30, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
17
Yeah the app experience is pretty bad. The detector seems pretty good, but not so much the app. Escort says it should get an update next month. Hopefully it addresses all these issues… Try doing the update over wifi. It works way better than with the app.
I was on the phone with Escort yesterday and the agent said they were working on the app and collected my data (phone model, OS, app version, etc) for troubleshooting.

Vortex, how did you gets yours to update via wifi and not the app? Originally I was on V2.9 on the app and it gave the option of connecting to wifi (still didnt work) and now I'm on 2.10 and there is no wifi option. Ive never worked so hard to get a device running the way it should...

I also submitted feedback for them to put updates on their site (like the sell sheet says it is) and detector tools pro like my 360c.

TIA
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
I was on the phone with Escort yesterday and the agent said they were working on the app and collected my data (phone model, OS, app version, etc) for troubleshooting.

Vortex, how did you gets yours to update via wifi and not the app? Originally I was on V2.9 on the app and it gave the option of connecting to wifi (still didnt work) and now I'm on 2.10 and there is no wifi option. Ive never worked so hard to get a device running the way it should...

I also submitted feedback for them to put updates on their site (like the sell sheet says it is) and detector tools pro like my 360c.

TIA
Yeah it's weird. You have to find the option in the Drive Smarter app for WiFi. It's not available in Escort Live. It's a bit roundabout, but you gotta find it under setting up your car's devices.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
6,600
Reaction score
16,001
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
Yeah it's weird. You have to find the option in the Drive Smarter app for WiFi. It's not available in Escort Live. It's a bit roundabout, but you gotta find it under setting up your car's devices.
Looks like they updated the app again 1 or 2 days ago. I believe it’s now 2.2.10.

Seems like a work in progress.
 

L4D44

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
933
Reaction score
2,660
Do you need wifi in the car for the dash cam to record?
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
99,784
Messages
1,514,783
Members
25,367
Latest member
cjmackay
Top