RL360C With EL

wolfpacal

Advanced User
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
1,246
Location
Communist Ontario
Hi all, I just got my RL360C on friday. Took it out and all is good. I've been using a USB to USB-C cable in the car (VW) that plugs in to the car's USB directly. I've been doing this for the past year with the V1G2 I have. Can use Google Maps, Waze, and of course JBV1 with no issues.
Today, while on my way to getting my RL360C hardwired in, I noticed that Waze on my car's screen started to flicker randomly, and then disconnected from my phone. EL was running on the phone itself. It started back up, and all was good again.
After I got the RL360C hardwired in, I plugged in my S21 Ultra to the same cable I mentioned above. Waze showed up, then when I run EL, I get an error message on the car's screen again, saying "unknown device, trying to read USB"
This kept happening non-stop so I unplugged the phone from the cable, and ran EL on the phone, with no cable, just fine.
Got home, re-started my phone, plugged in the cable, got Google Maps and Waze running on the car's display without issue. As soon as I start EL, the same error messages pop up and I had to disconnect the cable again.
Anyone else have this happen? Any ideas on how to fix? I find EL likes to take over EVERYTHING on the phone. I wanted to use EL on the phone, with Waze or GM on the car's display, but so far, it's not working out.
Lastly, if I started EL, then minimized it, launched JBV1 on the phone, and kept it on the main screen on the phone, does anyone know if EL gets an alert, if it will pop up to cover up JBV1? Just curious. I like the RL360C, not crazy about what EL is doing to my connection to my car. I've been running a V1G2 with JBV1 without fail, with the same cable attached, for the past year.
 

jestric

Go Gators!
Premium Plus
Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
4,335
Reaction score
17,543
Location
Sunshine State
@wolfpacal that is an interesting problem. :hmm:

I don't personally experience it with my iPhone and actually removed EL from my standalone Android because it didn't seem to work as well on that platform.
 
Last edited:

wolfpacal

Advanced User
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
1,246
Location
Communist Ontario
@wolfpacal that is an interesting problem. :hmm:

I don't personally experience it with my iPhone and actually removed EL from my standalone Android because it didn't seem to work as well on that platform.
Yeah thanks for the reply. Don't know why it doesn't play nice with Android.
 

DJFroggy

The NJ Radar Guy
Beginner User
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
399
Reaction score
814
Location
Point Pleasant Boro, NJ
When I first got my RL360 I was amped to use everything it offered. You can see my thread about "It only took 2 days to realize EL sucks!!!" All I use it for now is to change the settings on it. I use JBV1 or Highway Radar for a countermeasure app. Where do you live? So we can recommend settings for you?
 

wolfpacal

Advanced User
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
1,246
Location
Communist Ontario
Run hotspot
I'm using BT right now. I ordered an OBD, plug and play unit from my cell carrier for wifi in the car. Should be here later this week. Then it's on to wifi.
Post automatically merged:

When I first got my RL360 I was amped to use everything it offered. You can see my thread about "It only took 2 days to realize EL sucks!!!" All I use it for now is to change the settings on it. I use JBV1 or Highway Radar for a countermeasure app. Where do you live? So we can recommend settings for you?
Hey, thanks for the info. Because I live in Onterrible, I have to hide the RL360C in the visor holder. If I could mount it on the windshield and use the buttons on the RD itself, I would. Unfortunately I have to use EL as my eyes for the RL360C. I'm going to try the wifi in the car option, once the connected car device I ordered from my cell carrier comes in. Similar to what Vortex does in his SUV.
 
Last edited:

MurrayB

PSL +5
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
1,566
Reaction score
2,494
Location
EPA/SNJ/TampaBay
I only use Escort Live to adjust settings. My Pixel 4a gets very hot and drains battery when Escort live is used.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,717
Reaction score
8,149
Don't forget that EL also saves all of your Radar/Laser encounters in an Alert Log so you can go back and review them if you so desire. ;)
Too bad they aren't accurate.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,717
Reaction score
8,149
@Rags what specifically makes them not accurate? 🤔
I am not privy to how their developers program the so I cannot say what exactly makes them inaccurate. I can only tell you they are unreliable. Ka alerts being shown as K alerts, Russian gun alerts, and wrong frequencies are far more common than the right alert in the log.
 

jestric

Go Gators!
Premium Plus
Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
4,335
Reaction score
17,543
Location
Sunshine State
I am not privy to how their developers program the so I cannot say what exactly makes them inaccurate. I can only tell you they are unreliable. Ka alerts being shown as K alerts, Russian gun alerts, and wrong frequencies are far more common than the right alert in the log.

Holy cow! Thank you for sharing this information.
 

MurrayB

PSL +5
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
1,566
Reaction score
2,494
Location
EPA/SNJ/TampaBay
EL tells me I have Strelka alerts and other junk alerts near me. EL off quiet. EL is a great way to adjust settings, I use a 12v supply on the bench.
 

RadarEng

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jul 13, 2021
Messages
103
Reaction score
147
Location
NY
I could be totally wrong with this idea, but its worth a shot to mention it...

It seems you are simply using the USB port to power the detector - is this right?

You also said "I noticed that Waze on my car's screen started to flicker randomly" - this sound like you are using Android Auto - is this right?

If so, then maybe the problem is being caused by conflicting data on the USB cables. Meaning Android Auto and the detector and/or the apps are ALL sending data over the USB cable and fighting with each other.

So, maybe using a "power only" USB cable (for example, a "charge only" cable, with no data lines) for the detector - this way it will isolate the detector from sending out data and conflicting with Android Auto or the EL app and/or Waze.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
99,731
Messages
1,513,920
Members
25,354
Latest member
NZdrivepro
Top