R7 v1.37

RadarScout

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
7,687
Reaction score
15,178
Location
Land of Crimson Tide!
So I install the upgrade firmware unit when it got the arrows fixed I think it was a 135. Is there 137 firmware out now. Just curious is it worth taking the time and upgrading the detector even though it was just upgraded updated couple weeks ago? Anybody can clarify that be great thank you I didn't know new firmware was out maybe it is maybe it isn't someone please help thank you
Version 1.37 is what fixed the arrows. It's the latest version. It came out a couple months ago.
 

DC Fluid

RDF Addicts Anonymous Member
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
6,553
Reaction score
23,824
Age
55
Location
Prince George, B.C. Canada
I have it on. It still doesn't autolockout brief signals here.
"Brief Signals"
I believe the notes regarding lockouts stated that a signal had to be long enough "by X # seconds" to count towards an Autolockout.
I would just manually get those, especially if they are there sometimes or get missed occasionally.
I also do my lockouts while driving in highway mode to give the detector maximum range and time for signal acquisition, and that lets it do better lockouts.

For example, locking out at 30% or City mode, then you later switch to highway mode, you can start getting short alerts before entering the lockout radius you set at the lower sensitivity.
You may also discover alerts you never seen at all also.
So do lockouts at highest sensitivity you can stand for the first couple of weeks, then turn down your K Band if you need to.
 

Riptide

Recovering M3 Addict
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
5,071
Reaction score
4,674
Anyone having issues with the KA autolockouts? I drive by a satellite dish multiple times a day and it isn't working. Yes, I turned KA autolockout on.
Autolockouts on this thing are pretty garbage, it’s not limited to Ka.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,717
Reaction score
8,153
Autolockouts on this thing are pretty garbage, it’s not limited to Ka.
I agree, and I would also caution anyone about using manual lockouts. They work great, but if the frequency drifts too far, or the source is removed, there is no way to delete the old lockout individually. In these situations, you can end up just blocking a whole lot of K band spectrum with no convenient way to correct it. Auto lockouts, if they worked as they should, would eliminate this issue, as the source has disappeared, it will unlearn the source.
 

YelloEye

Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
942
Reaction score
1,222
Location
Washington
I agree, and I would also caution anyone about using manual lockouts. They work great, but if the frequency drifts too far, or the source is removed, there is no way to delete the old lockout individually. In these situations, you can end up just blocking a whole lot of K band spectrum with no convenient way to correct it. Auto lockouts, if they worked as they should, would eliminate this issue, as the source has disappeared, it will unlearn the source.
Do we know if they have any logic such as: IF NOT seen X times Y hours apart; THEN remove from autolockouts list

Seems like that would be a simple logic to program in.

Manual lockouts though...no idea how to correctly implement that, maybe a double press in the GPS location removes any/all which encompass the lockout GPS coords?
 

zappy

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
164
Reaction score
132
I only lockout manually, don't like everything autolockouts tag. I can use 1 lockout where autolockout will use 3 or more and block out the whole road. No thanks.
 

DC Fluid

RDF Addicts Anonymous Member
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
6,553
Reaction score
23,824
Age
55
Location
Prince George, B.C. Canada
I only lockout manually, don't like everything autolockouts tag. I can use 1 lockout where autolockout will use 3 or more and block out the whole road. No thanks.
Are you talking about the R7?
Because that's not how it works.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,717
Reaction score
8,153
Do we know if they have any logic such as: IF NOT seen X times Y hours apart; THEN remove from autolockouts list

Seems like that would be a simple logic to program in.

Manual lockouts though...no idea how to correctly implement that, maybe a double press in the GPS location removes any/all which encompass the lockout GPS coords?
Yes, the R7 will unlearn auto lockouts if the source is no longer present. Escort does this as well (as do the V1 apps).

Manual lockouts are about the worst method out.
 

zappy

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
164
Reaction score
132
Are you talking about the R7?
Because that's not how it works.
Yeah, I know how it works, poor choice of words., I was pressed for time, What made me switch to manual is a shopping center had 5 autolockouts when 1 well placed 1 works. Sure there are some alerts for a few seconds as it moves in and out of the box when the signal drops, but to me that is better than the what auto does. Another 1 had 3 auto when 1 manual does the exact same thing. Just my preference.
 

DC Fluid

RDF Addicts Anonymous Member
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
6,553
Reaction score
23,824
Age
55
Location
Prince George, B.C. Canada
Yeah, I know how it works, poor choice of words., I was pressed for time, What made me switch to manual is a shopping center had 5 autolockouts when 1 well placed 1 works. Sure there are some alerts for a few seconds as it moves in and out of the box when the signal drops, but to me that is better than the what auto does. Another 1 had 3 auto when 1 manual does the exact same thing. Just my preference.
It can be tough even on manual to nail multiple lockouts since they narrowed the range down to +/-.010 GHz.
An R3 with +/-.035 is much easier.
So I can see how some would break through being unlikely they're so close in frequency to be covered in all conditions.

I am a serial manual lockout user on my Unidens as I know every single door opener by heart now.
I use Auto Mute Memory to back me up when I'm not sure and don't want to mistake a BSM for one.
Also, when they're below my Quiet Ride setting I just ley Auto do it's thing now.

I'm also surprised how many door openers were in the K Block ranges, and weak setting really makes it quieter yet again.
 

YelloEye

Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
942
Reaction score
1,222
Location
Washington
Yes, the R7 will unlearn auto lockouts if the source is no longer present. Escort does this as well (as do the V1 apps).

Manual lockouts are about the worst method out.
Thanks for the intel. I'll avoid manually locking out items if at all possible.
 

Rice1995

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Apr 24, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
39
I'm still learning, especially from all the experts here.
If I understand this, I'm aware that there is a double click option where you can manually lockout false alerts. I've been doing that.
Lets say my normal driving route changes. Are you saying that if I repeatedly pass any future false locations the R7 will eventually lock them out automatically and I won't have to manually lock them out?
 

RoadKillDave

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Messages
39
Reaction score
53
The dbl click either manually locks out an alert that is happening, or removes a lock out on an altert that is being displayed as locked out.
 

DC Fluid

RDF Addicts Anonymous Member
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
6,553
Reaction score
23,824
Age
55
Location
Prince George, B.C. Canada
I'm still learning, especially from all the experts here.
If I understand this, I'm aware that there is a double click option where you can manually lockout false alerts. I've been doing that.
Lets say my normal driving route changes. Are you saying that if I repeatedly pass any future false locations the R7 will eventually lock them out automatically and I won't have to manually lock them out?
If you have recent firmware with Auto Mute Memory option, then yes, with that on it will learn the false alerts and lock them out for a quiet drive.
Just like Escort, but slower to happen.
 

DU5T3R

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jun 10, 2020
Messages
554
Reaction score
1,577
Location
NW Louisiana

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
99,732
Messages
1,513,936
Members
25,354
Latest member
NZdrivepro
Top