Suggestion: Theia component sharing program

VideosFromNH

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Reaction score
This is only a suggestion and probably isn't practical. I have no experience in manufacturing, so I'm spitballing out here.

We all know that Jon is waiting on a number of Xilinx FPGAs (~10000 I believe)

Is it possible that small orders can go through in between large orders? Say, if a large order for 20000 FPGAs is run, but because of the equipment configuration 20,256 are actually produced, would Xilinx fill small orders of the extra 256 components before starting the next large order to get rid of some customers on their waiting list? Like if large order customers want only the full order and not piecemeal deliveries?

If so, could Theia fans purchase a small number of FPGAs, say $500-$1000 worth, forward them to Radenso? Then on verification of genuine parts, get a financial credit towards a new Theia?

That would be in place of the substantial commission Jon mentioned on finding a verifiable source.

If I'm wrong, perhaps I should just subscribe to the mailing list.

Jon at Radenso

Manufacturer
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Manufacturer
Reaction score
Manufacturing small batches of detectors would be astronomically expensive, you really do need to make them in batches of 500-1k at the absolute minimum.

VideosFromNH

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Reaction score
Manufacturing small batches of detectors would be astronomically expensive, you really do need to make them in batches of 500-1k at the absolute minimum.
You wouldn't need to manufacture the detectors piecemeal. Just verify the component and stock up, then when you have enough like the 500-1k, then run off a batch of detectors.The goal is to get the components you need.

Maybe post a running tally of received FPGAs to goal, like KickStarter. Unless you don't want competition to know the figure.

NoahWL

KEEP RIGHT
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Reaction score