ALP + NetradarDSP, New Install "Radar Antenna Disconnected" error and Netradar not receiving

Gears5911

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
18
I only run custom installed detectors on my cars. And after many years I am done with Escort for a variety of reasons. After long research I decided to get the ALP + NetradarDSP for my BMW M6 convertible. Purchased new directly from the ALP USA Website, order number A28652. I do my own installs for years. I got the tools, background and so forth. (I have trust issues with installers, read my introduction if you want to know more).
After the install, which went very smooth. I followed all the procedures, i.e. Reset, Firmware Update ect. No problems. I have the Hifi Module and the Bluetooth Module. So its easy.
Problem is, the NetRadar does not connect. It appears it never did. I get the error "Radar Antenna Disconnected on F1". I checked the cable to the front plug for continuity. It checks out OK. I checked the RD3 connections. Seems to be OK. Since the GPS works fine through the RD3 module I doubt that is the issue. I tried to setup the NetRadar on input F2 and R to see if that works. No luck.
I filled out the contact form on the ALP USA website. Since I heard on the forum that this isn't always the best way to get in touch, I tried to register on their support forum. BUT....tried twice and never get the confirmation email. So I can't post there. So I hope they see it here.
Since its the weekend and it hasn't even been 24hours there is no complaint. Possibly I can get help through this channel. I suspect the NetRadar unit shipped is defective. I can't wait til I get this system running. I have a feeling this may be my favorite of all. The built quality of the components seems very solid and the install is pretty straight forward.
 
Last edited:

AllspeedJeff

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
231
Reaction score
869
Location
Southeast Michigan
I hope you’re able to get some help with your equipment. Please post some pics of your install
 

G37X Jockey

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
2,277
Reaction score
3,659
Location
Behind my Steering Wheel
I only run custom installed detectors on my cars. And after many years I am done with Escort for a variety of reasons. After long research I decided to get the ALP + NetradarDSP for my BMW M6 convertible. Purchased new directly from the ALP USA Website, order number A28652. I do my own installs for years. I got the tools, background and so forth. (I have trust issues with installers, read my introduction if you want to know more).
After the install, which went very smooth. I followed all the procedures, i.e. Reset, Firmware Update ect. No problems. I have the Hifi Module and the Bluetooth Module. So its easy.
Problem is, the NetRadar does not connect. It appears it never did. I get the error "Radar Antenna Disconnected on F1". I checked the cable to the front plug for continuity. It checks out OK. I checked the RD3 connections. Seems to be OK. Since the GPS works fine through the RD3 module I doubt that is the issue. I tried to setup the NetRadar on input F2 and R to see if that works. No luck.
I filled out the contact form on the ALP USA website. Since I heard on the forum that this isn't always the best way to get in touch, I tried to register on their support forum. BUT....tried twice and never get the confirmation email. So I can't post there. So I hope they see it here.
Since its the weekend and it hasn't even been 24hours there is no complaint. Possibly I can get help through this channel. I suspect the NetRadar unit shipped is defective. I can't wait til I get this system running. I have a feeling this may be my favorite of all. The built quality of the components seems very solid and the install is pretty straight forward.
Double check the obvious stuff. Is the RG3 connected to the CPU on the correct port?
Look at the statistics file and verify the radar antenna is listed.
Finally reset and memorize sensors again, and check for FW updates.
Good luck.
 

Gears5911

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
18
Thanks for the help. Unfortunately I did all the checks several times. I thought I sleep on it and check again today. No luck. GPS works through the RG3. NR cable has continuity. RG3 has green light and power. GPS antenna shows a red light on top meaning it has power. GPS is plugged into the RG3. I have BT and Hifi. But I did a firmware ect. update throught the USB as well just in case. Tried to activate F1, F2 and R port to see if NR works on those. And of course setup config accordingly. Memorized sensors. Status shows the firmware info for F1 as 0.0. So I guess the unit is looking for them but doesn't get a response. I think there is only one more thing I can do. Swap out the data cable between RG3 and controller. Than I guess I have to send antenna and may be RG3 back to ALP/BRD to check. I assume that is warranty. Just got it.
Post automatically merged:

Wil
I hope you’re able to get some help with your equipment. Please post some pics of your install
l have a few pics I took quickly. Its BMW M6. Not too crazy about the front look. But I want to make sure sensor location is ideal for functionality.

20210508_180726_resized.jpg 20210508_180758_resized.jpg 20210508_181442_resized.jpg 20210508_181531_resized.jpg 20210508_173025_resized.jpg 20210508_173150_resized.jpg 20210508_173211_resized.jpg
Post automatically merged:

I only run custom installed detectors on my cars. And after many years I am done with Escort for a variety of reasons. After long research I decided to get the ALP + NetradarDSP for my BMW M6 convertible. Purchased new directly from the ALP USA Website, order number A28652. I do my own installs for years. I got the tools, background and so forth. (I have trust issues with installers, read my introduction if you want to know more).
After the install, which went very smooth. I followed all the procedures, i.e. Reset, Firmware Update ect. No problems. I have the Hifi Module and the Bluetooth Module. So its easy.
Problem is, the NetRadar does not connect. It appears it never did. I get the error "Radar Antenna Disconnected on F1". I checked the cable to the front plug for continuity. It checks out OK. I checked the RD3 connections. Seems to be OK. Since the GPS works fine through the RD3 module I doubt that is the issue. I tried to setup the NetRadar on input F2 and R to see if that works. No luck.
I filled out the contact form on the ALP USA website. Since I heard on the forum that this isn't always the best way to get in touch, I tried to register on their support forum. BUT....tried twice and never get the confirmation email. So I can't post there. So I hope they see it here.
Since its the weekend and it hasn't even been 24hours there is no complaint. Possibly I can get help through this channel. I suspect the NetRadar unit shipped is defective. I can't wait til I get this system running. I have a feeling this may be my favorite of all. The built quality of the components seems very solid and the install is pretty straight forward.
Update: I just called ALP. Tom answered the phone and was very helpful. Here is what Tom explained to me and what likely happened. Firmware upgrade process was interrupted mid stream while it was doing the antenna. I need to send it back an they will open it and re-flash the firmware directly and send it back to me. They are not charging me for it, either.

And that makes sense. The car (BMW M6) had ignition on and timed out automatically exactly during the firmware update.
The lesson learned is: If your car is one of those push button start ones, make sure the engine is running or you otherwise provide uninterrupted power to the system.
I appreciate the super easy service and dealing with them. ALP from here forward together with their NR DSP or Radenso as I go upgrading my other cars and so forth.
 
Last edited:

Lucky225

Advanced User
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
662
Reaction score
469
The lesson learned is: If your car is one of those push button start ones, make sure the engine is running or you otherwise provide uninterrupted power to the system.

I just got a push button start, and new ALPs on order for it today. So glad I'm reading this stuff before I attempt to install without RTFM :p
 

AllspeedJeff

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
231
Reaction score
869
Location
Southeast Michigan
@Gears5911 Did you get your hardware updated and reinstalled in your vehicle? If so, have you test it yet? I’m curious to see how the system does with the TX head mounted vertically. I was of the impression that you could mount the RX heads vertically when using a TX, but I thought the TX still needed to be horizontal
 

JaySC

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
55
Reaction score
355
Same issue here. All cables are connected correctly and don't appear to be damaged. Have tried flipping around the cable that connects the RG3 to the HW4 to no avail. Going to try fiddling with the settings next as discussed in this thread.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
96,508
Messages
1,468,767
Members
24,747
Latest member
ronjhoser
Top