Update Fail

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
902
Reaction score
1,062
Location
Bear Creek
@Jag42 need help.
Trying to update. Get error message saying cannot connect to server. Open file fail. Please help.
Thanks.
 

Rey

LastOfTheMoRicans
Lifetime Premium
Intermediate User
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
496
Reaction score
1,232
Location
Louisville, Ky
Try using an iOS device like an iPad or iPhone. Android is buggy right now.
 

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
902
Reaction score
1,062
Location
Bear Creek
Try using an iOS device like an iPad or iPhone. Android is buggy right now.
Unfortunately, I have no IOS device at my disposal. I know Ming is working on it. Thanks.
 

The Pope

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Aug 21, 2017
Messages
457
Reaction score
744
Location
NC
Unfortunately, I have no IOS device at my disposal. I know Ming is working on it. Thanks.
I'm in the same situation.....
Just waiting for 8.15 or whatever it ends up being......
 

heffray

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Older Android worked fine: my GS20 FE (Android 11) got the Open File Fail error no matter what I tried, but it succeeded on an old Android 8 device.
 

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
902
Reaction score
1,062
Location
Bear Creek
Unfortunately, in my zeal to be up to date, my family has no phones below 11.
 

Matthewstorm

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
902
Reaction score
1,062
Location
Bear Creek
Found my wife's old Chinese iPhone. Update failed first time then it took.
 

Dragons

Breathing fire
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
1,542
Reaction score
1,962
Location
Australia
Could be better to just PM him directly.

Also don't you know a single person with an iPhone you could borrow for 15 mins?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rey

goodtimes40

PSL +5
Lifetime Premium
Intermediate User
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
714
Reaction score
667
Location
Port St. Lucie, Fl
All I can tell you is I had the same problem and Jag took care of it..... I'm thinking of getting an Apple phone next time before an update Android has too many bugs man. Thanks for the customer service at TMG. @Jared
 

The Pope

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Aug 21, 2017
Messages
457
Reaction score
744
Location
NC
I wanted to bring this subject back to the top.
My TMG is still asking for the update every time I power it up. It's like the UTD switch is stuck on, in which it keeps asking for the update (even after resetting). Also, when I connect to it with my Samsung 8+, it shows that it has 8.14 installed.

Yesterday I successfully installed the 1.04 CTRL Firmware and then tried the ALGO again with the same fail to install message.

Just want to post this to document that the 1.04 CTRL Firmware didn't resolve the issue with 8.14 ALGO & Android.

Yes, I know that I could get an OS phone to do the update, but where's the fun in that? I'll just adjust my driving habit's for the time being.

 
Last edited:

knight_man

I wanna go fast
Intermediate User
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
1,601
Is there any update on this? Besides buy an apple device.
 

surprisinguy

Government can only give what it takes...
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
2,917
Location
North Carolina
That's the only thing I've been waiting for
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
21,508
Location
Western NC
Putting this in perspective;
I don't use iOS devices. I've been able to update each time.

I'm not sure where the problems stem from for some people, but it's starting to sound like the impression is that updates can only be done with iOS which isn't true.

My current device is a Moto G-Stylus 2021 running Android 10.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
99,784
Messages
1,514,781
Members
25,367
Latest member
cjmackay
Top