Uniden R7 - level enough???

Acedj

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
Hi all!
I’m based in NZ and I’m very new to the whole detector thing. I’ve recently changed from the top model Whistler (which actually gave great range but a tonne of false alerts) to a newly purchased Uniden R7.
I have had this hardwired but my question for all of you great people is how much does it matter if it’s not completely level?

Since receiving my vehicle back from having it hardwired I would estimate that it’s pointed up by between 5-6 degrees. Unfortunately it is on a permanent mount and I would need to find a way to peel off and replace this to get it more level than it is now because it has no room to tilt down more.
Thanks in advance for your advice!
B9A4A69F-B531-4FC2-B5E5-6E4EB5A4BC3F.jpeg
E5AD5A10-1B94-49CD-B8A9-9F05ED410204.jpeg

R4D4RUS3R

RADARUSER
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Reaction score
I think you’re close enough. If it bugs you over time, the permanent mount is held on with VHB tape and can be replaced easily. I use a plastic interior tool to peel them off to change things. Currently, I‘m using dual lock with my mounts so I can swap detectors which each had permanent mounts installed. I sold my R7 so now only have one detector but the dual lock holds as well as the VHB did and provides flexibility. The negative with dual lock is the white backing that can be seen through the glass easier than the black color of the VHB.

midd

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
First and First, the Nexus of the Universe
Looks good. To be honest, they don't have to be perfectly level as a RD "listens" for frequencies. As long as the antenna are not looking up or down, you won't notice a difference if its not perfectly level. Laser is another story.

Acedj

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score