Info Viofo A139 Three Channel Dash Cam Review (and Discount Code!)

thebravo

Security
ModSec
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
7,905
Reaction score
19,702
Location
FL (formerly CT)
So I just went to pull some footage off my A139 and in the app it was showing the normal amount of clips, however the last dated clip was about 2 weeks ago. So it appears it hasn't been recording for a couple weeks, it hasn't warned of problems and gave the usual 3 channel recorded started message when I get in and the parking recording message when I get out. I formatted the card and it started recording again... I'm wondering if it was an issue cause I pulled the card to download videos and either corrupted it or maybe the temp files the video editor drops on the card messed it up so it wasn't able to overwrite... I will be monitoring it closely and checking the wife's A139 when I get home, hopefully it was just cause I corrupted something. On the positive I have the A129 plus installed still and that was working fine so I was able to get the footage from there
 

Bossdad71

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
9,463
Reaction score
15,820
Location
Kansas
Thank you for this, I'm looking at another Camara system. I've been using the escort one for over three years but I would like something that's wired in and a little higher not hooked to a radar detector mount
 

thebravo

Security
ModSec
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
7,905
Reaction score
19,702
Location
FL (formerly CT)
@jestric @Bloovy One Hidden feature alert! Something I had missed before is the option to adjust the codec the camera uses to build the files. By default the camera uses h.264, but if you stop recording and then hold the mic button for 2 seconds until it beeps it switches the camera to using h.265. The main benefit you will see with h.265 are smaller files sizes for the same quality video.
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
8,289
Reaction score
20,618
Location
Western NC
I had an issue with my A139 recently and it appears to be rectified. I thought I'd share the story.

I installed it a few months ago and have driven roughly 14K miles since. I was up in Kentucky for a few weeks and, WOW, those roads are bumpy compared to what I typically drive!

It highlighted a problem that I was having with my rear camera cable on the A139. I'd hit a bump and the camera would do it's "beep-beep, beep-beep, beep-beep" thing and sometimes announce that it was recording in only one channel instead of two. (I have yet to install the third camera)
This is not the same as when it saves a file due to the G-force sensor BTW. Those I understand and rarely get.

It began to do this on nearly every harsh bump so while I was home over labor day weekend I applied a drop of electrical contact cleaner to both the camera port and the end of the rear cable. One little drop each.

I traveled to Kentucky for another week and then to Virginia for almost a week and I've not heard the camera error beeps since applying the cleaner. :)

The camera seems decent. I have a habit of reformatting the card when I am sure there's nothing I want from it anymore so I hope I avoid the issue mentioned in post #41 above. :)
 

thebravo

Security
ModSec
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
7,905
Reaction score
19,702
Location
FL (formerly CT)
I had an issue with my A139 recently and it appears to be rectified. I thought I'd share the story.

I installed it a few months ago and have driven roughly 14K miles since. I was up in Kentucky for a few weeks and, WOW, those roads are bumpy compared to what I typically drive!

It highlighted a problem that I was having with my rear camera cable on the A139. I'd hit a bump and the camera would do it's "beep-beep, beep-beep, beep-beep" thing and sometimes announce that it was recording in only one channel instead of two. (I have yet to install the third camera)
This is not the same as when it saves a file due to the G-force sensor BTW. Those I understand and rarely get.

It began to do this on nearly every harsh bump so while I was home over labor day weekend I applied a drop of electrical contact cleaner to both the camera port and the end of the rear cable. One little drop each.

I traveled to Kentucky for another week and then to Virginia for almost a week and I've not heard the camera error beeps since applying the cleaner. :)

The camera seems decent. I have a habit of reformatting the card when I am sure there's nothing I want from it anymore so I hope I avoid the issue mentioned in post #41 above. :)
So that issue turned out to be not a camera issue it was an app issue actually... For some reason it wasn't updating the thumbnails of the video clips so they looked like old clips, but when clicked they actually played current footage... I noted after reformatting the card and letting the camera record Abit the clips were still showing up with old thumbnails... After rebooting my phone that stopped happening... No issues since.
 

beachump

Already do
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
191
Reaction score
382
Location
DFW
I'm I missing anything besides you get a 3rd camera but give up 4k in the front plus the little monitor with the 129pro.
 

thebravo

Security
ModSec
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
7,905
Reaction score
19,702
Location
FL (formerly CT)
I'm I missing anything besides you get a 3rd camera but give up 4k in the front plus the little monitor with the 129pro.
Basically. The 139 has no screen, voice notifications on startup and shutdown and when changing settings (if enabled), you get 2k front resolution like the 129 plus but the 139 includes the polarizer. 1080 rear and interior resolution. Interior camera has IR night vision. And the rear, interior cameras use a super small connector on a thin coax style cable rather than a usb variety which makes for easier install.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
99,069
Messages
1,504,673
Members
25,148
Latest member
Agoose
Top