After ALP install.... issues

TooMuchStuff

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
38
I just got the car back after two RX and one TX both front and rear were installed. There is also the BT module, HifI module and basically everything you can get. My post is to inform some of those looking for a good deal on an install. I saved about 1k on install but now I have to set it up myself because the installer/shop only does Escort and not ALP. I know its not that hard to do it but irritating to have to troubleshoot a new toy after paying $2260 for the ALP system and another $1650 for install. Also the front sensors are following the curve of the grill and not 100% straight and aming exactly forward like they should. You know what they say tho "you get what u pay for" no joke. I'll post pics in a couple days. Oh, and yes I am making copies of the serial numbers and BT pin and then laminating them for future updates. Without that info you have to tear the install apart looking for the info that is also on the boxes. Goodluck.
 

auskip07

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
1,112
Reaction score
1,763
Age
37
i would think the install of Escort would be basically the same (sensors facing level forward). if thats the case he might be installing every system incorrectly
 

omgboost

Left Lane Hog
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 27, 2014
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
4,764
Location
Forced Induction Land
Just take a picture of the serial numbers and save them.

You know the old adage, you want something done right, do it yourself.
 

Glenn Bazzano

Learning to Drive
Lifetime Premium
General User
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
72
I just got the car back after two RX and one TX both front and rear were installed. There is also the BT module, HifI module and basically everything you can get. My post is to inform some of those looking for a good deal on an install. I saved about 1k on install but now I have to set it up myself because the installer/shop only does Escort and not ALP. I know its not that hard to do it but irritating to have to troubleshoot a new toy after paying $2260 for the ALP system and another $1650 for install. Also the front sensors are following the curve of the grill and not 100% straight and aming exactly forward like they should. You know what they say tho "you get what u pay for" no joke. I'll post pics in a couple days. Oh, and yes I am making copies of the serial numbers and BT pin and then laminating them for future updates. Without that info you have to tear the install apart looking for the info that is also on the boxes. Goodluck.
I do believe that if you are using the BT module and the app, the app will give you the serial number. I installed my unit myself and there is nothing really difficult except running the wires. Of course if you don't have a suitable mounting point, installations can be more difficult
 

DifferentialT

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
730
Reaction score
2,430
Location
Western Colorado
@mercedesbenzo2020 said:
"after paying $2260 for the ALP system and another $1650 for install."

OMG, one more reason I cannot have such a system on my truck. The other being they are illegal in Colorado.:shifty:
 

bluesxturbo

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 15, 2020
Messages
180
Reaction score
249
@mercedesbenzo2020 said:
"after paying $2260 for the ALP system and another $1650 for install."

OMG, one more reason I cannot have such a system on my truck. The other being they are illegal in Colorado.:shifty:
In the illegal states, such as where I live, IL, just make sure you install them more stealthily, and disable your jammers when you get shot. You will be fine.
 

beachump

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
147
Reaction score
249
Location
DFW
Would you consider the 3 second jam option (disable your jammers) and pushing the menu button to switch to parking mode sufficient after police contact and possible vehicle inspection?
 

Maz3

Don't hate me just because I'm beautiful 🤣
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
994
Reaction score
2,739
Location
Vancouver, BC
Would you consider the 3 second jam option (disable your jammers) and pushing the menu button to switch to parking mode sufficient after police contact and possible vehicle inspection?
Yes.

You don't have to switch to Parking Mode per se though. Press either Power or Menu once to switch to detection only mode, once you've slowed down sufficiently.

Edit: Sorry misread part of your question. Parking mode if pulled over, sure. Personally I don't think the Parking Sensor defence carries much hope, but you've got nothing to lose at that point.
 
Last edited:

89q2hiu54warefs

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
110
Reaction score
260
I just got the car back after two RX and one TX both front and rear were installed. There is also the BT module, HifI module and basically everything you can get. My post is to inform some of those looking for a good deal on an install. I saved about 1k on install but now I have to set it up myself because the installer/shop only does Escort and not ALP. I know its not that hard to do it but irritating to have to troubleshoot a new toy after paying $2260 for the ALP system and another $1650 for install. Also the front sensors are following the curve of the grill and not 100% straight and aming exactly forward like they should. You know what they say tho "you get what u pay for" no joke. I'll post pics in a couple days. Oh, and yes I am making copies of the serial numbers and BT pin and then laminating them for future updates. Without that info you have to tear the install apart looking for the info that is also on the boxes. Goodluck.
That's an insane price. I just did my own install, and paid a shop to pull the cables through the firewall for me, that part only cost 100 bucks. The rest was just a lot of sugru and cussing, lol.
 

jcp

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
433
Reaction score
1,437
Location
Surrey, BC
That's an insane price. I just did my own install, and paid a shop to pull the cables through the firewall for me, that part only cost 100 bucks. The rest was just a lot of sugru and cussing, lol.
Been there, done that. Got the shirt and the hat ;)
 

omgboost

Left Lane Hog
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 27, 2014
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
4,764
Location
Forced Induction Land
That's an insane price. I just did my own install, and paid a shop to pull the cables through the firewall for me, that part only cost 100 bucks. The rest was just a lot of sugru and cussing, lol.
If you keep saving all this money, how you going to stimulate the economy?
 

Grumpy Finn

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
91
Reaction score
208
Location
SE Florida
I've seen some ccccrazy install prices lately, jag forum somebody was quoted 7k....
 

beachump

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
147
Reaction score
249
Location
DFW
After letting CarToys do the inside install work and getting the cables under the hood for $220, I mounted the heads. They were right on at estimating 4 hours labor @$110 an hour to do it. Testing yesterday with the help of @Weeth gave me the confidence that: THEY WORK GREAT. A little bit of fine tuning with the front LP is all that it will take.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jcp

TooMuchStuff

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
38
@beachump That is what i should have done! cant believe I paid 1650$ so dumb. HOWEVER, listen to this crazyness....
I sold the Mercedes CLA45 and am removing the system tomorrow or Saturday for sure in two days. Please anyone advise if this can be done somewhat easily if i just follow the cables. I cannot afford to pay them to take it out. Maybe I can just have them do part of it. I am pulling the complete ALP system with six sensors, hi-fi, BT and the works. What a waste BUT, I am installing them in my next car which is a 2021 Pacifica Hybrid Touring L van. I owned a 2018 Pacifica Hybrid and I am totally comfortable doing that in the Pacifica. I will hire to put thru firewall unless I can snake it through. Its a blacked out S package with all black everything so should blend nice. Has anyone ever removed an ALP system or any advice? thanks guys.
 

beachump

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
147
Reaction score
249
Location
DFW
As long as you don't have to pull the bumpers off, you should be able to do it yourself. A small pair of dikes on flex ties will be the majority of the work. Just be careful with the ends on all the cables. I have no idea where they buried the GPS in my dash.
If I can't just pull it out, I might leave it.
 

Flonase

Course X
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
557
Reaction score
960
You might want to pre-emptively cut the cables right at the RJ-45 connectors where they plug into the CPU, if you know they need to go through a tight grommet or a long run through trim panels etc. With a crimper you can put a nice connection back on them later. That way also you lose essentially no cable length. But if you start pulling them and get one stuck, then you have a problem...
 
Last edited:

MASI

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
461
Reaction score
1,038
Location
UTAH
Also the front sensors are following the curve of the grill and not 100% straight and aming exactly forward like they should.

Bummer.
Perhaps I can offer a "do it yourself" suggestion for quick, easy and accurate ALP head alignment. The MASI special tool costs about $14 from Home Depot or Loews. Click here:

 
Last edited:

TooMuchStuff

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
38
You might want to pre-emptively cut the cables right at the RJ-45 connectors where they plug into the CPU, if you know they need to go through a tight grommet or a long run through trim panels etc. With a crimper you can put a nice connection back on them later. That way also you lose essentially no cable length. But if you start pulling them and get one stuck, then you have a problem...
I just read your post and didn't realize you can cut and resplice these cables. Here is my original post about my uninstall today: I just ripped three cables out trying to get them thru the firewall. Damn.

OMG today was hell! I decided to sell a car I just had a six sensor fully loaded ALP system installed on. Paid over 1600$ to get installed and uninstalled it myself. The only thing I had to do was ditch the 5 long cables that are about $30 each. I tried to get them through the firewall and they wouldn't come through. That sucked. I had them at the bored out hold but the sharp metal from the drilled hole with a spaid bit cought the rubber shielding and wouldn't let them through. The rears I decied to leave buried to make unintalling easier. Anyway, I really want to install it again on my new van but will just buy new cables. Maybe pay to get the wires run through firewall and the hardwiring where the relay is but just do the rest myself this time. Part of me wants to just sell them and be done and lose about 800$ :(
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
97,612
Messages
1,482,249
Members
24,726
Latest member
Livsy
Top