Max 360ci Update Issues

Gothamnyc

Advanced User
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
773
Reaction score
896
Location
NY NY
Just tried to update my Max 360ci's on 2 separate cars... Both would allow me to update the red-light database but failed to update the firmware. Same computer I have always used to update them, latest version of detector tools from Escorts webpage... I get one of 2 errors totally at random on both detectors. 1st is a warning this device requires 12 volts before firmware can be processed. (Both cars a pretty new with good batteries) if that doesn't pop up I get an Exception Object reference not set to an instance of an object, with a ton of Stack Trace lines after...
Totally lost here!!! Any thoughts on what I am screwing up?
 

Z06fan

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
2,581
Reaction score
7,833
Location
Charlotte, NC
I sold my Ci but I don't think there have been any FW updates in a LONG time for the Ci.
 

jestric

Go Gators!
Premium Plus
Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
4,356
Reaction score
17,644
Location
Sunshine State
Maybe Escort has some information that will apply to your situation on their Escort Detector Tools Notice page:

 

HZ360C

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
252
Reaction score
483
Not familiar with ci, but in general, for update the firmware, you should only connect to computer via usb, but has the car off as you should not supply the 12v power while connect usb at same time.
 

croup

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
1,871
Reaction score
3,942
Location
Alabama
Not really sure.....I updated mine about 8 months ago and it went flawlessly....

I know at one time the the usb port on the former model had to be 2.0 and could not be 3.0. 3.1 etc....Had to buy an old usb 2.0 adapter to update the old 9500ci since my laptop only had usb 3.0 ports....I used that same setup to update the Max 360Ci.....Probably not relevant anymore but only thing that I can think of.....
 

Gothamnyc

Advanced User
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
773
Reaction score
896
Location
NY NY
I can't figure it out at all... 1st computer is one I have already used to update both Max CI's previously... Went through 3 other windows machines with no luck, Co worker just tried to do his with his computer and got the same Exception error. I have tried fresh Detector Tools Pro installs on all too...
 

jestric

Go Gators!
Premium Plus
Corgi Lovers
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
4,356
Reaction score
17,644
Location
Sunshine State
I can't figure it out at all... 1st computer is one I have already used to update both Max CI's previously... Went through 3 other windows machines with no luck, Co worker just tried to do his with his computer and got the same Exception error. I have tried fresh Detector Tools Pro installs on all too...

Maybe you're at the point that calling Cedar Electronics is in order. 800-543-1608
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
I was updating my Max Ci RLC DB the other day too and saw the same thing. RLC's updated just fine, but trying to check and update the firmware resulted in an error and a crash. I guess it's not just you or just me.

@JSherbondy
 

Gothamnyc

Advanced User
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
773
Reaction score
896
Location
NY NY
@Vortex After several more attempts , using numerous machines, I finally was able to update both the firmware and red-light database. However I was not able to replicate those updates using the same process, computer and detector!

I reached out to Escort tech support , first via phone with no success, than using the emails provided on this forum, none of which were a Larry Clark's so I am guessing the issue was passed on to him @GailFromCedar @JSherbondy? As I got two separate response...One from Larry Clark, his suggestion was I turn the car on when updating!?!? WOW, surprised he did not suggest I connect my lap top via usb 1st. He did not respond to my response to his suggestion, where I explained I was able to get an update through and asked how can I make sure this issue does not happen again.

The other email was to a gentleman named Shawn who @TonyPHX had referenced in another thread (thanks). He got back to me almost instantly, asked for screenshots of the errors I was getting, suggested I make sure my wifi signal was strong etc. He did notice on the one detector I couldn't update the database on, the subscription had expired. He was kind enough to push it out a month so I could test it would update. He followed up throughout the process too! He seemed to really care and took the time to make sure things were working.

I explained that by pure luck I was able to get both units to update once (again after one detector updated I went right to the car parked next to it and it failed numerous times before finally updating) but couldn't replicate it. I Literally changing nothing and tryed to update again minutes after. He explained that it happens and too many variables come into play. Wifi signal, computer specs, operating system and the detectors themselves being quirky, to be able to troubleshoot.

It is probably not a huge factor as the system hasn't had any updates in a while and I doubt other than red light updates it will see much of anything but still so weird to me that the process isn't super simple.

Side note, I was able to update my Original windshield version of the Max (1st gen) on every single computer I used with the same version of detector tools that failed on both My Max Ci's. So I think that verifies that detector tools pro and the each of the machines it was installed on all worked just fine.
 

Z06fan

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
2,581
Reaction score
7,833
Location
Charlotte, NC
Glad to hear that you were finally able to update and that Shawn was so helpful. The Ci had the potential to be in a class by itself but Escort completely forgot about it after launch. Hope the updates are a little easier for you in the future.
 

Vortex

Making Videos
Observer
VIP
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
22,738
Reaction score
66,147
Location
Washington State
Glad to hear you were able to update your systems! I was trying it again yesterday and noticed that DT asked to turn on power to get 12v to the Max Ci CPU when updating the firmware, something it didn't need for the Defender database update. Regardless, it still crashed for me when trying to check/update the firmware.

It'd be nice if we could better understand whatever you did to update your detector so we could replicate it consistently, haha.
 

TonyPHX

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
977
Reaction score
3,058
Location
Waddell, Arizona
Not sure if you ever checked this, but now I am wondering if the cable you were using is bad or going bad? Did that ever get replaced in your troubleshooting process? I know once on a detector I struggled and tried three different computers to do the update, but swapping the cable showed me where my problem was. : )
 

samq45

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
3,649
Location
Saratoga, NY
Glad to hear that you were finally able to update and that Shawn was so helpful. The Ci had the potential to be in a class by itself but Escort completely forgot about it after launch. Hope the updates are a little easier for you in the future.
If they did not go the K40 route, and essentially require that a third party sell and install the detector (for a current suggested price of $3,599 prior to install), they could have sold a boatload more. I know you can get your hands on them without getting them installed, but after I got one I sold it as I was worried there would be no warranty if I installed it myself.

The best part is when I called a few places to track down one, all of them tried to sell me a K40 instead.

Glad it got updated also, for that price someone should come to your house to update it.
 

Z06fan

Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
2,581
Reaction score
7,833
Location
Charlotte, NC
If they did not go the K40 route, and essentially require that a third party sell and install the detector (for a current suggested price of $3,599 prior to install), they could have sold a boatload more. I know you can get your hands on them without getting them installed, but after I got one I sold it as I was worried there would be no warranty if I installed it myself.

The best part is when I called a few places to track down one, all of them tried to sell me a K40 instead.

Glad it got updated also, for that price someone should come to your house to update it.
LOL, I like how you think. Unfortunately, I don't think any of us that had a Ci could get assistance from Escort, let alone somebody stopping by to update it. Pretty crappy when you spend that much on a system and can't rely on them to provide support or occasional updates.
 

Gothamnyc

Advanced User
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
773
Reaction score
896
Location
NY NY
Original cable the unit itself is mounted so far up in my dash swapping cables would be a pain, although I will keep it in mind with my our next cars....
On one unit an authorized Escort dealer did the install on a previous car... Well documented here, but long story short they failed to replace a grommet and did well over $20,000 worth if damage to the car. Insurance, lawyers and a ton of stress plus months for Mercedes to manufacture the parts.... Audio Visions in White Plains NY. They have since gone out of business! I couldn't imagine them updating a thing!
I moved the that system with some help to my Maserati and my other cars 360ci was purchased from an AD but installed by me. Dealer network in my area is horrible and customer service through Escort is a roll of the dice sadly....
I really hope Uniden develops a custom installed unit while I wait for Radenso's Theia
 

QSound

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
32
I was reading this thread where the Ci's had difficulty updating ...I know the update finally got done after trying several times, but was wondering, Did an answer to the real problem ever surface? I am having the same issues repeatedly. Either its the ...this device needs 12 volt, or the error, server, exception pop up thing....also sometimes it doesn't see the detector and I have to search and then agree to admin privileges. No matter how many times or when I try...I cant get defender or firmware to update. Can not ever get through to customer service...seems like the software just is not good or it doesnt like the Ci.... ...I am trying to make sure at least I have the latest version firmware that supposedly made some improvements to the shifters... Thanks again for any guidance from the community....agreed...that for the money, they could at least make the most expensive RD they offer to be able to update!
 

robertgw31

Learning to Drive
Premium Plus
General User
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
40
I had the Escort Max ci professionally installed in February. I just recently tried managing it with the Detector Tool, attempting this from two different laptops. In both cases the application crashed.

With one laptop the tool crashed when I tried to connect to the device. With the other laptop the tool was able to connect to the device and was able to update the Defender Database, but it crashed when it tried to update the firmware.

It seems that Escort is providing greater usability with their dash-top models. I imagine that that is where they have been putting most of their R&D dollars, which makes sense given that it is a much larger market.

What I don't get is as to why they are not able to make use of a modular approach to packaging their technology such that they can deliver these capabilities in different models where, for instance, one model would provide all functions in a single hardware component and another model would provide them in multiple hardware components, i.e. separate wired-together components of central processor, antenna and user interface. To make my point by way of analogy, Apple sells different iPhone models with different levels of performance, but the same iOS interface is available on all those models.

Maybe I am wrong, but I get the impression that I purchased last year's technology, sold to me by way of a new model naming and some new slick product web pages.

Chalk me up as another sucker
 
Last edited:

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
99,784
Messages
1,514,775
Members
25,367
Latest member
cjmackay
Top