Ideal R7 settings for California

Infamous6i9

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
Im pretty new with using detectors. Just picked up this R7 just trying to figure out what settings i should set. Im based in Los Angeles. But I frequently travel to Fresno (I5 @ 99) and Visalia (198). Thanks in Advance 👍🏻

fitz4321

Running With Scissors
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
In the Bay Area I set KA to 2,4,5,6,8 and leave X & K off.
When outside of my know zone...
K on
K narrow
K filter on
TSF on
City mode
Quiet Ride 90
Quiet Ride volume 4

The above settings will give you an alert at city speeds if the slight chance of K popping up (unlikely), and keep the R7 from being an annoying chatter box. It should be noted that quiet ride does NOT affect KA band which is what 99% of the radar in California.
be careful of laser..... you’ll need better equipment then your R7 for that. Always run Waze or Highway Radar (Android only).

Last edited:

Infamous6i9

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
In the Bay Area I set KA to 2,4,5,6,8 and leave X & K off.
When outside of my know zone...
K on
K narrow
K filter on
TSF on
City mode
Quiet Ride 90
Quiet Ride volume 4

The above settings will give you an alert at city speeds if the slight chance of K popping up (unlikely), and keep the R7 from being an annoying chatter box. It should be noted that quiet ride does NOT affect KA band which is what 99% of the radar in California.
be careful of laser..... you’ll need better equipment then your R7 for that. Always run Waze or Highway Radar (Android only).
Thank you for that reply sir. I will check on that aswell to see how it goes. What did you mean by City Mode? Is that what u set it up on with those settings?

fitz4321

Running With Scissors
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score