Sabre plug in

sam3069167

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
14
Edited by moderator: Link removed. Linking to elevated areas of the forum is prohibited.
Thanks! Couldn't find that thread for some reason.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Monus Brewer

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
17
😱🤯

I am so confused... 😥😖 Ok so do I need to have this installed to make H1 work? Literally just installed it trying to configure it to try when I am out today. I have a R7 so I feel pretty secure while I learn this.

I am a active Waze user but I figured I would try it after he recommended it over Waze. I am just confused on the set up, which seems to be a common theme. 🙄

Thanks for putting up with my meandering this morning. ✌️
 

plm

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
212
Reaction score
194
Location
Los Angeles
😱🤯

I am so confused... 😥😖 Ok so do I need to have this installed to make H1 work? Literally just installed it trying to configure it to try when I am out today. I have a R7 so I feel pretty secure while I learn this.

I am a active Waze user but I figured I would try it after he recommended it over Waze. I am just confused on the set up, which seems to be a common theme. 🙄

Thanks for putting up with my meandering this morning. ✌️
You don't need WzSabre installed to use HwR, but it's a nice means of integrating data from Waze to show police alerts and also confirm or report them yourself from within HwR instead of having to also have Waze open.
 

Maz3

Don't hate me just because I'm beautiful 🤣
Intermediate User
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
956
Reaction score
2,587
Location
Vancouver, BC
😱🤯

I am so confused... 😥😖 Ok so do I need to have this installed to make H1 work? Literally just installed it trying to configure it to try when I am out today. I have a R7 so I feel pretty secure while I learn this.

I am a active Waze user but I figured I would try it after he recommended it over Waze. I am just confused on the set up, which seems to be a common theme. 🙄

Thanks for putting up with my meandering this morning. ✌️
Expanding on what @plm said...

HR works without Sabre, but you have to manually configure HR to access Waze and aircraft tracking.

Sabre does nothing on its own. What it does is automates configuring Waze and aircraft tracking in HR.

Once you have HR running with Sabre, find the wSabre app in your apps list, and run the Sabre app from there to upgrade Sabre to the latest version.

I hope that helps.
 

ferius

More arrows please
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
666
Reaction score
2,653
Location
Seattle area, WA
Expanding on what @plm said...

HR works without Sabre, but you have to manually configure HR to access Waze and aircraft tracking.

Sabre does nothing on its own. What it does is automates configuring Waze and aircraft tracking in HR.

Once you have HR running with Sabre, find the wSabre app in your apps list, and run the Sabre app from there to upgrade Sabre to the latest version.

I hope that helps.

Almost there. SABRE has nothing with aircraft, and HwR has full aircraft support since v2.4.3. No need to configure anything for aircraft.

WzSabre adds two main features to Highway Radar:
  • Removes the hassle of configuring connection to crowd-sourced server
  • Allows you to report, confirm, and discard police alert from within Highway Radar
 

Maz3

Don't hate me just because I'm beautiful 🤣
Intermediate User
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
956
Reaction score
2,587
Location
Vancouver, BC
Almost there. SABRE has nothing with aircraft, and HwR has full aircraft support since v2.4.3. No need to configure anything for aircraft.

WzSabre adds two main features to Highway Radar:
  • Removes the hassle of configuring connection to crowd-sourced server
  • Allows you to report, confirm, and discard police alert from within Highway Radar
Thank you for correcting my explanation. 👍
 

LI2624

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
557
Reaction score
590
I don't know what I am doing wrong, but I downloaded all of Shuster's sabre plugins (all 3), opened them with apk, and still I get red X on intro screen saying sabre plugin not installed. I go to "settings" and "crowd sourced alerts settings" and it gives just the highway radar website information.

What did I do wrong or what steps did I miss?

Thanks
 

jestric

Go Gators!
Premium Plus
Intermediate User
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
12,785
Location
North Florida
I don't know what I am doing wrong, but I downloaded all of Shuster's sabre plugins (all 3), opened them with apk, and still I get red X on intro screen saying sabre plugin not installed. I go to "settings" and "crowd sourced alerts settings" and it gives just the highway radar website information.

What did I do wrong or what steps did I miss?

Thanks

@ferius, any thoughts or suggestions?
 

LI2624

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
557
Reaction score
590
@ferius, any thoughts or suggestions?

Hey, got it to work. Don't know if it is an issue with my phone or some other glitch, but was able to get it to work by restarting my phone, Note 10+.

What is interesting though, that before the reset I looked to see what my crowd source setting was in JBV1. I noticed that Sabre was installed on JBV1, but refused to install on Highway Radar. This is what prompted me to power off and power on the phone.
 

ferius

More arrows please
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
666
Reaction score
2,653
Location
Seattle area, WA
Hey, got it to work. Don't know if it is an issue with my phone or some other glitch, but was able to get it to work by restarting my phone, Note 10+.

What is interesting though, that before the reset I looked to see what my crowd source setting was in JBV1. I noticed that Sabre was installed on JBV1, but refused to install on Highway Radar. This is what prompted me to power off and power on the phone.
Yes, after you install the SABRE you need to either force-stop the HwR or reboot the phone.
 

AlfaPrime

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
57
A couple update questions:
- Is there a way to automatically update WzSabre from within Highway Radar? I see a notification that a newer version is available, but that's it.
- If not, when updating WzSabre from 1.1 to 1.2, is it necessary to manually delete 1.1 prior to downloading/installing 1.2? Or can I just assume it will properly overwrite the old version?
 

ferius

More arrows please
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
666
Reaction score
2,653
Location
Seattle area, WA
A couple update questions:
- Is there a way to automatically update WzSabre from within Highway Radar? I see a notification that a newer version is available, but that's it.
- If not, when updating WzSabre from 1.1 to 1.2, is it necessary to manually delete 1.1 prior to downloading/installing 1.2? Or can I just assume it will properly overwrite the old version?
- No, WzSabre has its own update, and you need to update if from withing WzSabre.
- Not necessary, you can simply install the v1.2 APK on top of the v1.1.
 

Fatbastard

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Mar 17, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
31
What database does Sabre use? Is this only to access the Waze CSAs? I ask because my buddy at work has a Cobra dashcam that uses their app which includes their own CSAs which I think also tie in what other Cobra radar detectors see. Also from surfing through this site and Vortex, it seems Cobra's iRadar app uses the same data as Escort Live. So I am just wondering if that data is also incorporated into the Sabre alerts.
 

ferius

More arrows please
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Software Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
666
Reaction score
2,653
Location
Seattle area, WA
What database does Sabre use? Is this only to access the Waze CSAs? I ask because my buddy at work has a Cobra dashcam that uses their app which includes their own CSAs which I think also tie in what other Cobra radar detectors see. Also from surfing through this site and Vortex, it seems Cobra's iRadar app uses the same data as Escort Live. So I am just wondering if that data is also incorporated into the Sabre alerts.
WzSabre uses Waze data. However, SABRE is an open protocol, so anyone can write plugins supporting their favorite data sources. WzSabre is just a good usage of the protocol. Protocol description is here https://sabre.app

Also, I don't develop WzSabre, and have no idea about its future plans. I think @schuster can tell something here.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
96,476
Messages
1,468,316
Members
24,739
Latest member
i1dave2
Top