Do you need both a Radar Detector and Laser Jammer

Zwie

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
I am new to all of this but I am honestly curious ?

In 2021, Do you still need a Radar Detector? Or can you just buy a Laser Jammer. Something like ALPS

Could you get away with only having a Laser Jammer ?

RadarScout

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score

In 2021, Do you still need a Radar Detector? Or can you just buy a Laser Jammer. Something like ALPS

Radar is by far prominent for speed detection. Laser is quickly spreading everywhere. We generally recommend getting protection for both threats.
The banner in your profile says you're from Guam. Do they use laser there? I'm sure they use some brand of radar. It could be K band, Ka band 33.8, 34.7, or 35.5. All detectors sold today detect all of those. Some brands detect radar bands great on 1 or 2 of those bands while other brands detect other bands better. That's why it helps us to know what you have to deal with in order for us to make suggestions.

ARkaband

War Eagle
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Reaction score
From a quick search, it appears the Guam PD use both radar and laser devices, so you will want both for full coverage. The best laser jammer on the market is ALP, and you'll get good radar detector advice in your other thread you posted.

Last edited:

Transporter

ModWight Transporter
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
In front of you but behind a Rabbit - Hot'Lanta,GA
Welcome to the RDF!