VPR Head Mounting Location

adamkalinski

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
Hey everyone.

My name's Adam and I'm brand new to the page. I've always ran a detector in the car but decided to upgrade after getting a couple of close calls lately. I picked up a max 360 and the tmg a-15 dual head + vpr. I will be installing myself as I'm pretty good at stuff like this. The system is going in a 2015 genesis Coupe. I've found a pretty detailed diy install on this page and I think I'm going to go the same route.

My issue is that this install was done without the vpr head and I'd like the extra protection. I live in Charlotte NC but would like it when traveling to Georgia/Florida. I want to mount the vpr in the middle (top of lower grill). This is basically the only place I could mount it given the front layout. I've read everywhere that the ALP Tx needs 20 inch ground clearance, and people are staying this may be the same for vpr. However, I've looked through every possible forum related to vpr on rdforums and can not find a straightforward answer to this issue. Its basically just speculating and tmg has not made a comment. Or at least not one I could find. I've have read several places that tmg only specifies + or - 3 inches from the other heads. I would obviously be over that but I'd assume that would be okay. The problem is I don't want to have interference with road reflections if this is too low. I don't know anyone or anywhere I could get tested so I'd like to get this install right and have some piece of mind. Would I be better off mounting the vpr or skipping it entirely and going with two heads? Anyone have any experience with low mounted vpr and laser effectiveness?