Newbie here

olemil

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
283
Location
Michigan
Just wanted to say hello before I bombard everyone with silly newbie questions...haha. Finally got around and bought a new RD yesterday, had several over the years with my last one being a Bel Tronics, can't remember the model anymore. Had the urge to buy a new more updated one and finally bite the bullet yesterday on a Escort Max3. Was hoping the new Radenso Theia would hit the market sooner but guess the one I have will get me started and also I will have something to look forward to later on. I really hate getting in another 'hobby' because I am never happy until I have the best and newest one on the market!!
 

olemil

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
283
Location
Michigan
Thank you for the welcomes, much appreciated!! I've watched many of Vortex's YouTube videos in the last few days and scoured his website for hours, very knowledgeable man and excellent reviews. I am very anxious to spend more time with the Max 3, first thing I did yesterday after my initial spin around town with it was to update the firmware to Ver1.3. Fingers crossed.
 

RoadDogg

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
1,467
Reaction score
5,056
Location
Tennessee
@olemil , Welcome to the Forum!! Enjoy your new Max 3. This can be a addictive and unique “hobby”, but you came to the right place.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

I Enjoy Sport Cars

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
9
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this forums, I'm so happy this forums exist and that people is able to help each other. I'm sorry if I ask questions that don't make much sense sometimes. I'm kind of new to this Radars/Laser stuff and not the best at it. Thank you for having me and I hope I learn quick so I can help the community as well. I recently purchased me a new Mustang , and will definitely need your advise on which Radar/Laser to buy. Thank you
 

olemil

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
283
Location
Michigan
Thanks again everyone for the welcomes, much appreciated.
Guess I'll try posting my question here first and see if I get any confirmation before posting it in the general forum. My question is on setting up my Max 3 or any brand that is customizable. I watched the set up video on Vortex's site and I think I finally have my head around it. When setting up which bands to scan, I have the option to either turn all the bands on or turn them off (and select segments of them). So basically if I turn off K band for example, I can select which segment (section/frequency of that band) to scan versus scanning the entire band which would take longer to scan, correct? At first I thought by turning off say K band it would not scan any of that band but by switching on certain segments of that band will in fact scan just that part/section of the K band? Sorry if this is so confusing, I know what I want to say but not sure if I said it well enough for you to understand my question. Thank you for your help.
 

R4D4RUS3R

RADARUSER
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
1,431
Reaction score
2,115
Welcome! I dont have the Max 3 but if its like most other brands turning the bands off will keep the band off. The segmentation will only apply when you have the band turned on. I would leave on all for a bit until you see what’s around. You should be fine in state to do away with X but if you travel to Ohio you will want X back on. The segmentation for modern detectors is more about noise than performance. If you turn parts of the bands off you have less chance of a false signal in areas of the band that are not likely real radar to worry about. Start open and trim as you find you way. It will start more noisy but at least you didn’t turn off something you needed unknowingly.
 

RadarScout

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
6,641
Reaction score
10,543
Location
Land of Crimson Tide!
Thanks again everyone for the welcomes, much appreciated.
Guess I'll try posting my question here first and see if I get any confirmation before posting it in the general forum. My question is on setting up my Max 3 or any brand that is customizable. I watched the set up video on Vortex's site and I think I finally have my head around it. When setting up which bands to scan, I have the option to either turn all the bands on or turn them off (and select segments of them). So basically if I turn off K band for example, I can select which segment (section/frequency of that band) to scan versus scanning the entire band which would take longer to scan, correct? At first I thought by turning off say K band it would not scan any of that band but by switching on certain segments of that band will in fact scan just that part/section of the K band? Sorry if this is so confusing, I know what I want to say but not sure if I said it well enough for you to understand my question. Thank you for your help.
The Max3 segments K band? I know Ka band can be, but I didn't know you could segment K?
 

milkman

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
18,981
Reaction score
10,723
Location
Missouri
welcome to the forum
 

drtoddw

Always driving at a safe and prudent speed
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
3,911
Reaction score
5,321
Location
Behind the wheel
Welcome from West Michigan.
 

Mr carbon

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
134
Reaction score
225
Location
Paddy land
Welcome from ireland
 

r3MI

Learning to Fly
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
692
Reaction score
1,198
Location
Michigan
Welcome from The Rust Belt
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
92,284
Messages
1,406,401
Members
23,425
Latest member
Stylishmule
Top