Fool me once shame on you...fool me twice shame on me...I'm done

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
2,150
Reaction score
1,991
@Rags
What are you seeing?
Is it MRCT or MRCD?
What frequency are you seeing?
What location is this false?
Can you reproduce it on demand?
Sorry, didn't do any logs as I had no convenient way to do so while driving. But it was consistently annoying enough to turn it off. I ran it for a month straight to compare with my R7 and new V1G2 on my long trips. If I ever get to try it again, I will try to do more documentation.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
5,844
Reaction score
12,862
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
So why not just turn off MRCD off and leave MRCT active...... or vice versa?
What state do these MRCD false’s show up?
Maybe it’s your unit that needs a check. Ever look if there was a error code in the detectors log?
 

Bluelinex

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
440
Reaction score
598
So quit lying and saying it can't do those things. Also quit pretending the situation is different with the RL360C, as when you turn MRCD on with it, it's actually noisier than the V1G2 (or V1G1 for that matter).

Now if you want to claim the RL360C gives a tad more distance with MRCD, you have a valid argument.
I do not turn on the MRCD/CT in NY I don't have to. All the speed & red light cams are in the Escort data base that's all you need in NYC all the cams are stationary. If you run the V1G2 with two apps like V1 Driver & WASE it will do the job but to me that's a real pain. With a Max or Red Line 360c all you have to do is put it on you windshield & turn it on.
 

Rags

Tumbleweed
Advanced User
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
2,150
Reaction score
1,991
I do not turn on the MRCD/CT in NY I don't have to. All the speed & red light cams are in the Escort data base that's all you need in NYC all the cams are stationary. If you run the V1G2 with two apps like V1 Driver & WASE it will do the job but to me that's a real pain. With a Max or Red Line 360c all you have to do is put it on you windshield & turn it on.
I just run JBV1. No need for Waze here.
 

Bloovy One

"Today didn't have to end in eels"
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
7,400
Reaction score
16,983
Location
Western NC
That's what it was!
I was trying to recall why Bluelinex says "2 apps".

IOS = V1 Driver and waze (for camera alerts)

Android = JBV1
 

Bluelinex

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
440
Reaction score
598
I just run JBV1. No need for Waze here.
Nice, I have an Apple phone so I can't use JBV1 I would have to use two apps to protect me. Of coarse these detectors are $150 to 250 more that a V1 so you have to PAY for that convenience. It's up to each person what their willing to spend.
 

ljh505

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
28
Location
Albuquerque
@jerzboi the K-Notch option is only available in the detector settings itself, not through the app. That makes the ride much quieter for BSM. @Vortex has a video and articles on his website to get to that option in the detector itself. I have had great luck with mine, so sorry to hear you are having issues
Yeah, witout the Vortex video, I never would have discovered this feature in the MAX 360c. It is crazy that they didn't put it in the App. I tried searching in the app a few times, went and re-watched the Vortex videos, and then had an "a ha" moment that I had to use the buttons on the unit itself to enable the notch filter. The detector is now usable on a crowded highway after engaging the K-band notch filter and enough trips over a month or two to have it auto-learn the standard stationary false alert sources.
 
Last edited:

rdrlsr385

Learning to Drive
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
General User
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
106
I do not turn on the MRCD/CT in NY I don't have to. All the speed & red light cams are in the Escort data base that's all you need in NYC all the cams are stationary. If you run the V1G2 with two apps like V1 Driver & WASE it will do the job but to me that's a real pain. With a Max or Red Line 360c all you have to do is put it on you windshield & turn it on.
It's been my personal experience in NYC that the RL360c does a pretty good job at detecting MRCD/CT and most every time I've had that alert it's invariably a camera and not a false alert. You have to keep in mind that those cameras take photos in one direction at the rear plate. So I might get an alert and see that the camera is on the left side of the road and shooting opposing traffic so it's not an threat. Saying all that, it does false to MRC/CT occasionally and I know that because I'll get the alert while driving in another state where I know that they don't use those cameras.

Finally, as for Escort Live, I just noticed today that EL did not have a camera on the map while Waze did for a camera that was only a few blocks from my house on a path that I pass almost daily. And I'm religious about updating my defender database every week. They are literally adding new cameras every day, you really have to be careful here. I'll rarely run the RL360c without EL but when I do it's good to know that I'll at least get an alert from the camera's signal. Keep in mind that those cameras transmit a signal all the time but you're only tagged Mon-Fri from 6am to 10pm, inclusive of holidays and school summer break during these times. I disregard all alerts nights and weekends.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
5,844
Reaction score
12,862
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
I’m not sure what you guys might be facing, but I have not been able to pick up MRCD traps from, not one, but 2 other R360C’s running FW 1.4.
As for MRCT..... neither have been able to detect it either. Doesn’t matter the setting.

I have videos of the 2 different R360C’s blowing through a MRCD trap on different days, with no alert.
Could be that our MRCT stationary RLC’s might be a tad bit different.... but we have 2 types.
One type is identical to what’s been seen in the States
64F71806-4681-4C82-BCDE-EF244AD7A118.jpeg

4B67ECB5-F2D7-4E5F-B7F7-569AF9DCD8CE.jpeg

The other is something that’s new.
F3977E85-F97C-4136-83A6-79C842996C41.jpeg


These are MRCT RLC’s.... and neither are detectable .... driving towards or driving past them with FW 1.4.

As for MRCD.... different animal... but neither R360C could not detect them. I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t a hardware issue. It’s not.

These are the MRCD Rigs.
40361792-6ABB-46AB-94C4-443A2AC9D769.jpeg

I do have the videos of the 2 different R360C’s not picking them up. The first ones are in the testing section.... the other one was just fine a few days ago. I haven’t posted it... but I could.

That being said..... after what I seen with the M360C, I think they’ll get it figured out. I’m almost 99% sure it’s a FW issue.
 
Last edited:

PointerCone

M3 Kng
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
22,348
Reaction score
22,635
New fw? Both came with 1.4 ..K narrow 1 2 and 3 are on tsr off as for the Ka falses I only remember 34.6xx the rest of the time I was looking for the threat which I never saw or heard on JBV1
You sure those alleged Ka false were Ka? 1/2/3 ON on K band will make the R360 nuts . Try K off with Ka 2/5/8 only ON. See if it's still falsing.
 

Heywood

Learning Something New, Still Dying Stupid
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
5,844
Reaction score
12,862
Location
The Tail Lights Pulling Away From You
You sure those alleged Ka false were Ka? 1/2/3 ON on K band will make the R360 nuts . Try K off with Ka 2/5/8 only ON. See if it's still falsing.
It does. I have mine seg’d to 2/5/8 and it’s been Ka falsing.
Here’s a small example
 

Attachments

  • 0CD3E0FA-DBA2-49CA-9CC5-4638E9096DEF.png
    0CD3E0FA-DBA2-49CA-9CC5-4638E9096DEF.png
    724.7 KB · Views: 28

PointerCone

M3 Kng
Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
22,348
Reaction score
22,635
It does. I have mine seg’d to 2/5/8 and it’s been Ka falsing.
Here’s a small example
If you send it to ER, they're just going to say they adjusted antenna and everything else is fine . Sounds like a firmware issue. Thanks for the screen shots.
Post automatically merged:

I’m not sure what you guys might be facing, but I have not been able to pick up MRCD traps from, not one, but 2 other R360C’s running FW 1.4.
As for MRCT..... neither have been able to detect it either. Doesn’t matter the setting.

I have videos of the 2 different R360C’s blowing through a MRCD trap on different days, with no alert.
Could be that our MRCT stationary RLC’s might be a tad bit different.... but we have 2 types.
One type is identical to what’s been seen in the States
View attachment 165687
View attachment 165689
The other is something that’s new.
View attachment 165688

These are MRCT RLC’s.... and neither are detectable .... driving towards or driving past them with FW 1.4.

As for MRCD.... different animal... but neither R360C could not detect them. I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t a hardware issue. It’s not.

These are the MRCD Rigs.
View attachment 165690
I do have the videos of the 2 different R360C’s not picking them up. The first ones are in the testing section.... the other one was just fine a few days ago. I haven’t posted it... but I could.

That being said..... after what I seen with the M360C, I think they’ll get it figured out. I’m almost 99% sure it’s a FW issue.
I'll bet you my Pro A would pick them right up. However, it'll false everything else to death, like BSMs.
Post automatically merged:

I do not turn on the MRCD/CT in NY I don't have to. All the speed & red light cams are in the Escort data base that's all you need in NYC all the cams are stationary. If you run the V1G2 with two apps like V1 Driver & WASE it will do the job but to me that's a real pain. With a Max or Red Line 360c all you have to do is put it on you windshield & turn it on.
Are those fixed/stationary cameras marked on Waze as well?
 
Last edited:

jerzboi

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
89
Reaction score
94
You sure those alleged Ka false were Ka? 1/2/3 ON on K band will make the R360 nuts . Try K off with Ka 2/5/8 only ON. See if it's still falsing.
Thanks ,but as I said I'm done with Escort my R7 will arrive by the weekend and the RL360C will be sold
 

westwind77

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
3,362
Reaction score
7,311
It is crazy that they didn't put it in the App.
That would require them to update the app as well. I go back and forth, but I doubt the App is designed/updated 'in-house' so they that is just one extra cost for the company to pay.
 

TonyPHX

PSL +5
Premium Plus
Intermediate User
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
842
Reaction score
2,605
Location
Waddell, Arizona
Old legacy technology is just that. . . .lipstick on a pig, no matter how many versions of XX.XXX.XX upgrades (lipstick).

View attachment 164729
I agree, however those of us who have purchased Escort still have a desire to make it work right.

PS: You are coming off like a troll by bashing Escort in the Escort forum. I am sure that was not your intent. lol
 

Smirnoff

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
330
Reaction score
351
I agree, however those of us who have purchased Escort still have a desire to make it work right.

PS: You are coming off like a troll by bashing Escort in the Escort forum. I am sure that was not your intent. lol
Your are right & thanks, it was not my intent to single-out or bash any particular manufacturer. . . .every-time a new FW version is available across the RD brands, it most often negatively changes another feature or parameter. Shame on me for another 33-days or less.
 

TonyPHX

PSL +5
Premium Plus
Intermediate User
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
842
Reaction score
2,605
Location
Waddell, Arizona
I’m not sure what you guys might be facing, but I have not been able to pick up MRCD traps from, not one, but 2 other R360C’s running FW 1.4.
As for MRCT..... neither have been able to detect it either. Doesn’t matter the setting.

I have videos of the 2 different R360C’s blowing through a MRCD trap on different days, with no alert.
Could be that our MRCT stationary RLC’s might be a tad bit different.... but we have 2 types.
One type is identical to what’s been seen in the States
View attachment 165687
View attachment 165689
The other is something that’s new.
View attachment 165688

These are MRCT RLC’s.... and neither are detectable .... driving towards or driving past them with FW 1.4.

As for MRCD.... different animal... but neither R360C could not detect them. I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t a hardware issue. It’s not.

These are the MRCD Rigs.
View attachment 165690
I do have the videos of the 2 different R360C’s not picking them up. The first ones are in the testing section.... the other one was just fine a few days ago. I haven’t posted it... but I could.

That being said..... after what I seen with the M360C, I think they’ll get it figured out. I’m almost 99% sure it’s a FW issue.
I hope you are right. Even though I am going to jump on the Theia train when it leaves the station, I still want the R360c to work right. Especially for what it cost.
Post automatically merged:

Your are right & thanks, it was not my intent to single-out or bash any particular manufacturer. . . .every-time a new FW version is available across the RD brands, it most often negatively changes another feature or parameter. Shame on me for another 33-days or less.
Well, you are right too - they have earned some bashing. I shouldn't be wagging my virtual finger lol. Cheers
 

Bluelinex

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
440
Reaction score
598
Again, this is false information. The V1G2 can detect MRCD/CT and speed cams fine. Of course, you have to go without filtering to get it. You don't need two phone apps for protection and never has. Now, without the K Verifier filtering turned on, it's noisy as all get out. But so is the RL360c with MRCD enabled.
Yes the V1G2 with all the filters turned off will detect MRCD/CT and also every door opener and car safety system with in 300ft of your car. This makes the V1 useless in that situation so to me it can not detect speed cams in a useful way, as for red light cams you still need WAZE. I'm sure Mike Valentine will fix the MRCD/CT but for right now you can get Uniden or Escort detector that will cover you for as low as $300 all the way up to $750. If you don't need this type of detection great. For red light cams you will always need WAZE , I run an I phone with V1Driver works great. I don't know about android users.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
93,017
Messages
1,418,137
Members
23,667
Latest member
frjohn
Top