Laser detection

Walmart Parking Lot

Learning to Drive
General User
Reaction score
Hey all! Total beginner here but slowly learning everything. I’ve heard radar detectors don’t detect laser. I have a Uniden R3 and R7 currently. What do people mean when they don’t detect laser? Does it mean it still detects it but it’ll be too late by the time you get the notice on your RD or do they not detect it at all?

If the first is true, what letter does laser show on the Uniden’s?

If the latter is true, I used to have this RD (page 15) and it showed “L” which meant laser.

Also what’s the different between laser and Lidar?

Any insight or clarification would be appreciated! Thanks

Disco47

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Reaction score
Laser and Lidar are the same thing. All modern radar detectors also alert to laser guns.

The beam from a lidar gun is very narrow. Cops can only use it when they are stationary and must manually aim it at each vehicle. This when you get an alert, the cops are reading your speed.

Your best defense against laser is a good laser jammer. ALP makes good units but they are expensive.

RadarScout

Premium Plus
Lifetime Premium
Advanced User
Reaction score
Does it mean it still detects it but it’ll be too late by the time you get the notice on your RD or do they not detect it at all?
99% of the time, if your detector alerts to laser, the LEO already has your speed. The exception to this is if your detector picks up some scatter off another car that's being targeted. Most detectors are horrible at detecting laser, thus you should never depend on getting a save against laser by you radar detector. Remember, it's a detector and not a protector. Skills of using a detector properly is what gets you saves.

2018GTI

PSL +5
Intermediate User
Reaction score
FWIW, when testing my TMG's with 14 direct hits from a TSS, my R3 never alerted. Same when I was hit with a Stalker on the way to testing. TMG's are a great option for CA, hit jag42 up.

thebravo

Security