What is a great used first car?

Lag

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Reaction score
I'm a student and currently do not own a car. I'm looking towards Toyota Camry or a Honda Civic because I've heard that Japanese cars have the best reliability. I'm looking for something that is cheap to maintain (whether that means cheap repairs and more frequent, or one long-term costly repair), quick (I only driven V6's and my friends say that you won't go back), and looks (who does not like flexing their car?).

I don't know if the answers should be separated into categories but I'm open to any thoughts and discussions.

Maz3

Don't hate me just because I'm beautiful 🤣
Intermediate User
Reaction score
Mazda 3

Bought mine new in 2004, drove it hard for 16 years and 330,000 km (205,000 miles), still on the original clutch when I got rid of it. Didn't even squeek or rattle, and only routine servicing - no breakdowns.

Last edited:

Smason

What is a PSL?
Advanced User
Reaction score
Definitely a Honda/Toyota.

I'd personally go with a 4cyl. As a student getting mpg is huge.

It might get off the line slower than a v6 but on highway driving it's all the same.

DocTJ

PSL + X= 100
Premium Plus
Advanced User
Reaction score
Any Japanese car is your friend : but specifically Honda and Toyota in terms of reliability.
Camry is to accord.
As Corolla is to civic.
You can’t go wrong with either.
Mazda 3 or 6 is a good car too.
Drive each.
Make sure you maintain and service them and they will last you a very long time.
“V6 only” is what that was like a few years ago.
These days many 4 cylinders are attached to a Turbo and make the same power as the v6 contenders but with better fuel efficiency .
Post automatically merged:

Honestly take a look at new Hyundai and Kia. They aren’t built like shit anymore and they have the same tech available and come with good warranties.

Last edited:

Lag

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Reaction score
Mazda 3 or 6 is a good car too.