Favor (People w/V1G2 and RAA)?

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
Does anyone have a gen 2 and the RAA that they could stack and take a picture of? V1 on top and the RAA under it either to one side (left) or centered. I’m trying to decide if that would look stupid and how bulky it would be. I need my knob! Lol

Thanks in advance.
 

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
Damn... no replies yet. I must be on everyone’s ignore list or something.

I was being serious, this wasn’t a poke fun thread. I was actually considering stacking the two and since the RAA has the plugs on the back (I wasn’t aware of that when Bloovy brought it up yesterday, but I looked into it and saw that) I can run a short RJ11 between the units, like a 3 or 4” cord and then still use my mirrortap as a power source. I just don’t know how stupid or bulky it would look with the RAA stuck to the bottom of the V1. I need that easy and silent volume adjustment of the knob. I can’t do away with that capability that my gen 1 has, I use that too much.
 

Bloovy One

130,000+ miles with JBV1!
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
6,397
Reaction score
13,769
Location
Western NC

Kennyc56

Ford Lover-I/O hater!
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
4,235
Reaction score
13,274
Location
I/O Hell, Aka Eastern N.C.
I still don't get the deal with the knob. I'm not trying to be funny at all either! I ran my V1G1 for years and once I got it set up like I wanted, I never touched it! The V1G2 is the same. I turned off X band and that's all I needed the button for. It starts and stops with the car so I don't need the switch for that either. I always run A mode, but even if I wanted to change that all it takes is a quick press of the button. It's also very easy to go into the programming mode as well. I must be missing something that others are using the knob for.
 

biolink

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
315
I liked it because it had a retro flair. Even in 1994 when it came out the knob was old. Also, it just made volume control really easy. I am sure when I get the Gen 2 I will move on.
 

Kennyc56

Ford Lover-I/O hater!
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
4,235
Reaction score
13,274
Location
I/O Hell, Aka Eastern N.C.
You know what helped me move on? The first 35.5 off axis alert 1/2 mile before I could even see the curve! My V1G1 wouldn't have seen that until I was line of sight to the source! These type of alerts happen all the time with the V1G2!
 

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
@Kennyc56 I change volume on a regular basis. It could be because I’ve turned up or down the music in the car and I want to be able to hear the detector at a similar intrusive level compared to current ambient sound levels or it could be due to a phone conversation where I don’t want the person on the line to hear it either going off or starting up. For example, last night I was on the phone with someone and driving around I left the volume where it normally is and simply was muting false alerts as I was driving around town, no big deal. Then I had to make a stop and get out of the car which required me to turn car off. When I got back into the car, while still on this same call, I turned the volume down all the way on the detector before cranking the car up because I didn’t need to have the stupid startup routine go off. Once it was done and before backing out, I turned the volume back up, totally by feel and also without it making any noise to tell me what volume level it was being set at, all while carrying on the conversation without noise interruption with this other person. So yeah, there’s a lot of use that’s been lost with the new volume controls. Additionally, I use a visor mount, so adjusting volume on the new unit will be annoying due to that and getting to the buttons, but most importantly, I can’t adjust the stupid volume on a gen 2 without it making noise to tell me the level and while they could add an option in settings via a firmware update to allow for volume adjustment with no sound and just the number indicator, which I think would be a great option to have, it still can’t be adjusted with the unit off, so in my scenario last night, the damn thing would have gone though it audible startup routine and been annoying during the phone call. Hope all that makes sense.

Also, BTW, when and if I do get pulled over, I also reach up and flip the volume all the way down but leave the detector On because it’s not illegal to have one and all I care about is just the noise, should the cop still have his radar on during the stop. The knob is just very quick, it’s all tactile feel for where the level is for both normal and muted levels and all it takes is my index and middle fingers on my left hand to be able to tell what’s what. A lot of times I also reach up and check current level if I decide to drive more aggressively to be sure it’s where it should be... kind of a check and balance... again, in complete silence and without needing to turn it up and down to check this. I can feel the little line on the knob and where it’s at with my fingertip. On a gen 2, you’d have to bump the volume up and then back down one level to do this same function and you’d have a sound go off.
 

Kennyc56

Ford Lover-I/O hater!
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
4,235
Reaction score
13,274
Location
I/O Hell, Aka Eastern N.C.
That all makes perfect sense! I run the volume all the way up and leave it. I run muted volume at 4 and leave it as well. Since this thing is totally stealth and I can black it out with either V1 connect or JBV1, I don't worry about turning it off either. If I get stopped , I always turn off my car shutting down all my countermeasures as well. Once again, different strokes!
 

biolink

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
315
The remote audio accessory was intended to be installed in the dash or console. I've seen some slick integrations but have never seen anyone attach it to the detector itself. Putting myself in Mike's head I'm seeing the RAA used to mute the detector without giving an obvious gesture or movement to your detector. I'm guessing anyone who has one has it installed and it's not coming out.
 

BDrag

Learning to Drive
General User
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
29
Reaction score
40
I don’t have the RAA for my Gen 2 but have debated on getting it. Multiple reasons but I’d have it near my center console to not have to reach up. I’ve seen folks have it on the driver door to have the audio more just for the driver and to be able to turn it down. I see the appeal of the knob for some situations which is why I’m still debating it.

Google had no luck with the RAA on top of the Gen 2. But I found these two pictures to kind of help get a general visual. Hope it helps.
 

Attachments

Bloovy One

130,000+ miles with JBV1!
Corgi Lovers
Advanced User
Lifetime Premium Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
6,397
Reaction score
13,769
Location
Western NC
I suspect there aren't very many RAA's out there. (Thus the lack of response)
I thought someone would have responded by now.
 

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
The remote audio accessory was intended to be installed in the dash or console. I've seen some slick integrations but have never seen anyone attach it to the detector itself. Putting myself in Mike's head I'm seeing the RAA used to mute the detector without giving an obvious gesture or movement to your detector. I'm guessing anyone who has one has it installed and it's not coming out.
Yeah, I know how it was intended to be used, but I don’t want to run another long like since I’ve got my detector or a mirrortap. By attaching it to the bottom, I can run like a 3” or custom length cable from the RAA to the detector, which won’t show and then just plug my mirrortap into the RAA and continue to use the gen2 in a similar fashion to my gen 1. Really disappointed Mike didn’t just source a single adjuster clicking pot knob. It would have clicked the same as the current power button and in terms of doing the mute volume control, he could have done it with push in and then turn or like it is now, adjust volume to trigger volume adjustment mode and then press in to flip to muted and adjust. Or simply made the muted volume adjustment only accessible in settings, since it’s not something adjusted quite as much as opposed to main volume.
 

biolink

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
315
Yeah, I know how it was intended to be used, but I don’t want to run another long like since I’ve got my detector or a mirrortap. By attaching it to the bottom, I can run like a 3” or custom length cable from the RAA to the detector, which won’t show and then just plug my mirrortap into the RAA and continue to use the gen2 in a similar fashion to my gen 1. Really disappointed Mike didn’t just source a single adjuster clicking pot knob. It would have clicked the same as the current power button and in terms of doing the mute volume control, he could have done it with push in and then turn or like it is now, adjust volume to trigger volume adjustment mode and then press in to flip to muted and adjust. Or simply made the muted volume adjustment only accessible in settings, since it’s not something adjusted quite as much as opposed to main volume.
You are preaching to the choir, i liked the old control. However, I get the new layout. The knob took up room. He wanted more features, yet slimmer design.. I'm sure three is a source or cost issue involved as well. He built for the masses and if you notice he basically had the only knob controlled detector since the late 80s. Folks are buying Escort with buttons.

I actually used the lever. I would sometimes adjust muted volume to hear the ramp up. For the first time ever I'm thinking about mounting remote audio.

The funny thing for me is I may not even have a V1 if the Escort DSP (which has a knob) had included Ka and i hadn't found the first Ka gun in Idaho.
 

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
You are preaching to the choir, i liked the old control. However, I get the new layout. The knob took up room. He wanted more features, yet slimmer design.. I'm sure three is a source or cost issue involved as well. He built for the masses and if you notice he basically had the only knob controlled detector since the late 80s. Folks are buying Escort with buttons.

I actually used the lever. I would sometimes adjust muted volume to hear the ramp up. For the first time ever I'm thinking about mounting remote audio.

The funny thing for me is I may not even have a V1 if the Escort DSP (which has a knob) had included Ka and i hadn't found the first Ka gun in Idaho.
I know... that’s kinda why I’m waiting on Theia to see what up before I drop any money. I’m a V1 user at heart and believe in it more than another detector, but the controls are just wack for how I use it and even if I adjust, it’s not really an adjustment, it’s different usability altogether. Maybe in a while they’ll add a firmware update to adjust volume without it making noise or something, but even then, you have to look at the number on the front for volume to see where you’re at unless you remember where you’re at and adjust based on feel and clicks of the volume buttons, assuming you’re right on all that. If Theia comes out and the knob control is good and the radar and also laser matches or exceeds the V1, I’ll probably jump ship and get that. If it falls flat even on the laser side of detection (let’s not debate this, I have my reasons) then I may just go a gen2 with the RAA stuck to it, I dunno. Sucks having to rig up something like that just to get first gen functionality back. 🤦‍♂️
 

biolink

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
315
Every time I buy a new phone a function is added, subtracted, put in a different place. You know what I do, I adapt and move on. Theia, Theia, Theia, so sick of hearing that. I hope it's like 8 grand..........Get a Gen 2 already............
 

biolink

Learning to Fly
Beginner User
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
315
It's a bit bulky. My knob will go in the console.
 

SwankPeRFection

Corgi Lovers
Beginner User
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
998
Reaction score
962
Every time I buy a new phone a function is added, subtracted, put in a different place. You know what I do, I adapt and move on. Theia, Theia, Theia, so sick of hearing that. I hope it's like 8 grand..........Get a Gen 2 already............
Lol, I don’t get a new phone each year. Last iPhone I had was a 6 that I replaced the battery on myself, etc. I waited until I found something that fit my needs for battery longevity, speed, etc. iPhone XR was the answer at the time and still have that. Maybe upgrade to new iPhone coming out this year, but that all depends on advancements and if it’s worth it. To me it’s not a money thing... it’s just a personal preference thing and I have to feel like it fits my needs and doesn’t sacrifice something I like or have on a previous thing that filled that same role or function. I’m not a big fan of compromise when there’s a chance I can wait a little while longer and get something else that doesn’t require that same compromise or at least lowers the compromise level to a more acceptable level. Hope that makes sense.
Post automatically merged:

Thank you.
 

Discord Server

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
87,877
Messages
1,336,760
Members
22,132
Latest member
jon450
Top